We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Paramount. No surprises, nothing to complain about. The room was plenty big, clean, and in good repair. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast buffet was excellent. It's not a 5 star NYC buffet, but for the price it was outstanding!
This was a last minute trip, I got the room through Hotwire which made the rate really good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAD1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
When visiting the Gainesville area we know that you have many choices as to accomidations a we are honored that you picked us. If you are ever back in the area again please contact us direct at 353-377-4000. Again, thank you for such kind words in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    293
    145
    93
    116
See reviews for
352
177
129
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Several TripAdvisor reviews mentioned the comfort of the beds, so maybe it's just my wife and I who found it problematic. The mattress was quite thick and looked fairly new, but it was covered by some kind of plastic sheet (I assume to protect it - but they have proper mattress covers that do the same thing) so it felt like sleeping in a hospital. Also it was extremely lumpy under this sheet, so, in short, neither of us slept very well and, in fact, my wife was really annoyed by how uncomfortable it was.
On the plus side, the room was spacious, with nice furnishings. Bathroom was fine and everything was very clean.
Location was not bad, although about 15 minute drive from the highway (I-75), so if you just want to get to the hotel quickly and be on your way in the morning, I prefer being closer to the Interstate. The area itself was a bit run down, but certainly not seedy.
They also have a small fee (which you don't know about until you check in) to cover internet, fitness centre, and a bunch of other things listed on a sheet which the clerk flashed for us to read in about 7 seconds(so I have no idea what else was covered), which are normally included in most other hotels - it's only $2.50, but it's a bit petty. Also, since they have a restaurant, they don't provide a breakfast, as is sometimes done. I don't object to this, since you are aware in advance that this is the case, and many other hotels are the same. But again, we found it petty that since they only had coffee provided in the room and not tea, there was another almost $3 charge when my wife asked if she could get a tea bag.
The front desk clerk was fairly pleasant, but would make a better impression with a shave and a clean and tucked-in shirt.
This could be a very good hotel with a little more attention to detail - i guess that's what distinguishes 2 star from a 3 star hotel. They have a ways to go - not even close to 3.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APTorontoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. The Paramount Plaza Hotel Suites & Conference Center is taking great strides to make many changes. We are currently doing major renovations to all our guest rooms banquets rooms and restaurant. We know that you have many choices when visiting the area and would like to offer you another chance to stay and experiance our changes. Please contact us at 352-377-4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, oh
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our second stay at the Paramont and we plan on returning next year. The room we had during each stay was very clean and comfortable. The area around the hotel is peaceful and tranquil, and the staff is friendly and helpful. We have enjoyed the happy hour, as well as breakfast with friends in the restaurant, walkes around the lake with our young grandson, and a morning cup of coffee on the balcony. The hotel location is close to downtown and very convenient to get to. It is a wonderful value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artistDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We know that you have many choices for accomidations when your in the Gainesville area and we would like to thank you for choosing the Paramount Plaza Hotel Suites & Conference Center. If you are ever coming back to the area please call us direct and save. 352-377-4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiny, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is our 5th year staying here on our way to St. Petersburg. We have thoroughly enjoyed it every time and it is even improving!!! (They are working on upgrading). The price can't be beat for the quality. We particularly enjoy the Happy Hour (always some nice hot goodies) and also the breakfast is a good deal and you are not rushed to be out at the crack of dawn! What more can I say.......we love it!!! P.S. We also like catching some rays on or balcony!

Helen, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dasaris81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Hope can't wait for your return back. We are taking great strides to improve the hotel from remodeled rooms to our Lakeside Grill and Bar. When you return back to Gainesville make sure that you book direct and save. 352-377-4000 .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed one night in December. Upon checking in, I asked if there was a discount for AAA members. Snarky response of " Uhhh, not if you don't tell me before I give you your price". How will I know if I am getting a discount if I tell her first? Oh well, room was recently updated, clean and provided a good night's sleep. Would probably stay there again, snarky employee aside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lasigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We always take the good with the bad and use comments to coach our staff. I would like to apoligize for the rude comment that you received, I can assure you that is not the norm for our staff. I am proud to say that we have made great changes at our property and would like to offer you a discounted rate when you return to the area. Please contact me direct at 352-377-4000. Thank you for your time, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Spacious room, clean and courteous staff. All rooms have balcony. Great price!

Adjacent rooms not so private. As you can hear everything.

Overall enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend and do again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you Marlene for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would return again. If your ever in the area again please contact us direct to book and save. 353 377 4000 !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was here for only one night but have stayed here before. Each time the rooms were clean and suitable. The room was large, bed comfortable, service friendly. This time I ate dinner and the salmon was perfect. I've stayed in crappy hotels for the same price, so at this rate ($60) it was a steal!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMgmt, Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
HI Erica!

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We sincerely enjoyed serving you on your stay! The Blackened Salmon Salad is one of my favorite entrees on our Lakeside Grill's menu. I'm glad you also appreciated our new larger beds. We took the extra step with our recent rennovations in getting larger thicker pillow top mattresses, and I'm glad they have made a difference. Many thanks for taking the time to respond!

Best Regards,
Tracy Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Gainesville

Property: Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Address: 2900 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-3015 (Formerly Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#14 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Garden Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. The Wyndham Garden Hotel & Conference Center offers full-service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. The Wyndham Garden is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prairie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffee makers, wireless Internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Wyndham Garden offers free shuttle services from 7:30 a.M. To 5:30 p.M. Daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Garden Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing