We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable, clean, quiet and inexpensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge University
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, quiet and inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I spent three nights at the Econo lodge University Gainesville and was very pleased with their rooms and services. All appliances in the room worked, the bed was confortable, the bathroom was clean and very hot water was plentiful. Their continental breakfast was not elaborate, but satisfactory. Surroundings were quiet. The staff was helpful and pleasant and I would stay there again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    7
    8
    8
See reviews for
11
5
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The room was basic. The pics on their website are VERY accurate. No frills. Our room's bathroom light had a constant flicker. There was blood (or something red, see pic) on one of the mattresses! Sketchy, but we got our zzzzzz's (:

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SicaAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Great location for us. Staff was helpful. Room was simple but clean and we will definitely stay here during football season.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RodwayApopka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

older hotel...missing alarm clock..microwave missing parts NO COFFEE MAKER NO computer access Quick cleanup every day did'nt bother to vacuum....used soap packages left in bathroom.......no USA TODAY as advertised owners were very attentive to outside cleanliness and very cordial

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nhra4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed at the Econo Lodge University for almost all the Gator games in 2010. The place is a family owned motel and the provide excellent service. The place is older and worn but for the price and location it is 2nd to none. We had a newborn last year and we felt comfortable keeping him here. If your looking for a place to lay your head for a football weekend and don't want to spend the big bucks then this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scottyuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Arrived at this hotel as it was getting dark. Went to the room and then straight out for a meal. On our return put on the lights and the room looked grubby. Well we were tired and it was only for 1 night. Looked for the coffee maker and couldn't find one so decided to boil a cup of water in the microwave. As I opened the door the smell was disgusting. There was a coating of old dried food spattered on the back and top of the microwave. Judging by the amount I wonder when or if it had ever been cleaned. Can you imagine if it had dripped or dropped in to the cup. Salmonella for sure. My husband turned on the air conditioning unit (wondered why it was not on as it had been 95+ that day) There was no top cover on the unit and the noise and smell (something rotten? ) was overpowering. There must have been a quarter inch of dust in there. I went straight to reception to complain. The asian lady (wife of the manager) said we could move to another room that was booked but the man wouldn't be arriving till later (there was a ball game on) I insisted that she come and look at the problems which she did very reluctantly and seemed totally unconcerned by them. She said to give her 15 minutes. When we got to the second room this was better. Air con worked, coffee maker, and a fresh smell of cleaning detergent in the microwave (15 mins of cleaning?) Lord help the man who got our 1st room. The next morning went to check out and the smell of curry in the reception made your eyes water it was so pungeant. I commented on the room again and the manager and his wife seemed to not give a damn and just smiled and shrugged their shoulders at our comments. This hotel is a health hazard. NEVER again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kwaitang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay, it was relaxing and quiet. No loud parties. It was quiet and comfortable. We stayed in the queen bed room. We found the room to be very clean and the motel staff very friendly and helpful.

Would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandyPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#27 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#28 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#11 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 44 in Gainesville
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge University

Property: Econo Lodge University
Address: 2649 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge University 1.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Gainesville
Gainesville Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing