We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn University
Nearby Hotels
$105
$100
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$98
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Gateway Grand(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$99
$84
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
25
51
37
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
51
37
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightfree breakfast is offeredwafflesroom was cleannice tvbiscuits gravylots of pillowshard boiled eggsup to datedecent hotelshands hospitalstayed nightsdays inncleaning staffdefinitely stay here againsanjaycereal
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 139 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I am in Gainesville a few times a year for both business and pleasure and I am quite familiar with the limited lodging options here, particularly if you want to be anywhere near downtown or the UF area. If you have a car your #1 choice should be the Paramount, if you want to park and walk your choices should be Hampton Inn then Holiday Inn. But if you have a car and have business downtown, this is the best price you will pay for a good room in the area. The Days Inn just a half block closer to UF is a dump, with plexiglass in the windows and a generally shabby condition. This place at least has a nice front desk staff (at least in the day), and a fairly well kept property (although the hot tub was out this week, which was a disappointment). Bottom line is that this is a decent price for a room in Gainesville and a really good location.

Room Tip: I've stayed in both floors in both smoking and non smoking rooms and found them all all remarkably consistent.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnypuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

What more could a frequent Gainesville traveler want? Many rooms are far enough from US 441 that you can't hear traffic, even with the AC fan off (see Helpful Room Tips, below). On our first stay we went for breakfast 15 minutes after closing time. Sanjay not only opened the door to the breakfast room, he made a fresh pot of coffee and offered to warm scrambled eggs and biscuits with gravy! Plan your Gainesville trip to avoid Gator football weekends and freshman arrival days, when all motels within a 15 mile radius are filled to capacity and room rates are much higher.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from US 441 are quieter -- numbers 1/213-15 on the south side and 1/216-18 on the north side.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The very best things about this hotel - breakfast, close to campus, and surprisingly comfy beds. Also, the staff is quite helpful.

Details:
1) We were initially booked in a king room - it was just around the corner from the lobby, at the base of the staircase, and the smell of smoke hit us in the face the very moment we opened the door. I could NOT do it; we immediately went back to the front desk to ask for another room. Interestingly, the clerk already knew what we wanted before we even told him. Even though the hotel was overbooked, he gave us the option of looking at another room (a double "suite" at the top of the same staircase) and decide between the two. Very good customer service.

2) We were down for the UF v. LSU game - this location is perfect. The only thing better would have been the Holiday Inn on University, which was booked of course. We could have walked to campus and been in the middle of it all. It also was not far, but not walking distance, from what I guessed was the downtown strip - although in a city the size of Gainesville, is anything really "far"?

3) The continental breakfast was quite good. I expected to see bagels and coffee.... and that's it. It was much more of a spread - waffle maker, eggs, sausage, biscuits, fruit, cereal, muffins, eclairs, toast, juice.... and of course bagels and coffee. ;-)

I'm sure I left something off, but all in all, for a shot trip this hotel will do. Be aware that it is clearly an older hotel - small bathrooms, no flat screen TV (old school tubes), suite not much of a suite - but it is clean and the best price this close to campus on a home game weekend. AND since I tend to choose hotels almost solely based on the bed (and location), it must be pretty alright because I slept like a baby.

Room Tip: If you are NOT a smoker or if you have allergies or sinus problems, DO NOT get booked in room 128.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June, and it was one of those, "oh wow the photos are rather misleading" experiences. The photos make the property look enormous, the pools look inviting, and the rooms look bright and airy. In reality the parking lot was small and the property crammed in next to a strip of retail stores that look rather questionable. The whirlpool was green. Four of the guests were having fun trying to taunt a snake that they'd startled in the pool area, using the pool's rescue hook. The non smoking room smelled like an odd combination of sharp mildew and wet ashtray (partially because the rooms nearby had smokers staying in them and the smokers would stand outside, right by our room, and smoke near the intake of our A/C unit.) The toilet rocked on it's base and if you wore anything over a size 10, getting the door of the bathroom closed without standing in the toilet or shower itself, was a feat of gymnastic skill. Also, the fridge wasn't working properly and looked like someone had hit it, in the driveway, with a compact car, a few times. What saved this trip from being a 1 to 2 star rating however, was the absolutely sweet staff with cheery dispositions and the willingness to TRY and help out. This wouldn't be one of our top three choices for a return trip but it would be one of the top five for the budget savvy traveler. It's safe, dry, and secure, if nothing else, with VERY nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Quality Inn was clean, but a room that would normally cost $69 per night was $99 because we had the bad luck of scheduling our visit during the week that parents were bringing their kids to University of Florida for the Fall Semester. I imagine that the same level of price gouging goes on when there's a sports event, too. The rooms open to the outside, not a hallway. There was a giant jacuzzi in the room (not in the bathroom -- in the room) -- personally I wouldn't consider getting in a jacuzzi in a hotel room and I don't even want to think about what has happened in that jacuzzi in the past. Even looking at it creeped me out. There was also an empty beer bottle outside our door for half-a-day. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews