We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little touch of the Islands in downtown Gainesville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reggae Shack Cafe

Reggae Shack Cafe
Ranked #17 of 549 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PARKING IN THE BACK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little touch of the Islands in downtown Gainesville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This place has a menu for just about everyone, from vegan to hearty carnivore. The spicy dishes are not overly hot, but have plenty of spicy pepper flavor, this is comfort food served with a smile. The only drawback is parking is a little scarce during busy times of the day, we parked across University in the Sante Fe lot and walked over for our last lunch visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    62
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
“Music too loud.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Food's great but the live music is so loud the waiter, and anyone else at your table, can't hear you even when you're shouting! Which is a pity, since the band is really good. So our policy is we avoid it when there's live music :-)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Accessoryqueen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ya mon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was so pleasantly surprised by this small local Jamaican restaurant. The food was DELICIOUS and the service is wonderful. There are tons of veggie and vegan choices along with typical Jamaican Jerk pork, beef or chicken.

The place itself is so adorable-small and colorful with great music playing. Definitely going back next time I visit Gainesville!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food for everyone and tons of vegan options!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great food for meat-eaters and vegans alike. Highly recommend if you are vegan - there are fully 20 meals to choose from plus dessert!
Go to my blog for my full review with photos: http://vegouttoeat.wordpress.com/2013/04/12/reggae-shack-cafe-gainesville-florida/

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Swift525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenacres,FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on my way to Fl from GA. It was great. Staff was so nice. Food was the best. Clean restrooms and restaurant Wish I was closer to eat there more often.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blessings2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reggae Shack Cafe also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to Reggae Shack Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing