We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cuban Sandwiches in Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flacos

Flacos
Ranked #138 of 551 Restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
373 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Cuban Sandwiches in Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Downtown hub for the best Cuban sandwiches, pastries, and beer. This place is a small 5 picnic booth eatery that is full of the college crowd. The lechon with mojo sandwich was perfect on Cuban bread. The sweet plantains were quite good. Great spot for a quick meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scbleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I love going to Flaco's anytime i'm in Gainesville. My most recent experience was just as amazing as ever. It was late, past 1 am and Flaco's was slammed! The order took a while to make since it was a bare bones crew of one cashier, one cook and one backup/prepper but boy was it worth the wait. My Cafe con Leche was one of the best i've ever had and growing up in Miami, i've drank plenty. I stopped into Flacos after a concert and bought goodies to take home back to St Petersburg. The food was just as amazing reheated the next day. If you have a chance, definitely stop in and grab a cuban, coffee and pastry, your taste buds will thank you!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bdow555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I absolutely LOVE Flacos. If you're looking for an authentic Cuban sandwich, this is where you need to come! There is an older Cuban lady who prepares all of the delicious food herself. I typically get a Medianoche but everything I've had has been delicious!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank j_mac323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“When its Late and You're Hungry Downtown, this is a Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Flacos is open late many nights and they are convenient to the downtown area of Gainesville. While its not anything fancy, the food is good, served fast and not at all expensive. Cafe con Leche and Guava Pastry is great. Really good Cuban Sandwich. There is some seating, but we usually grab food and take it to go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachgypsyfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious cuban sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I went after a night out in downtown Gainesville. The line took about 10 minutes. The sandwich was delicious and totally worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flacos also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to Flacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing