We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay. Would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Grand
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good stay. Would recommend”
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Very helpful staff. Upgraded room without extra charge due to convenience and fairly quiet day. Able to get faxes from them along with extra toiletries. Free newspaper. No complaints. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrajani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    222
    83
    33
    24
See reviews for
300
161
57
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

My company stayed at the Gateway Grand for a seminar we hosted. We have stayed at this property before, and as usual they did not disappoint. The staff were excellent in all aspects, from planning the meeting, to check in, to the service in our meeting room.

A few things of note. A few of the attendees commented that their rooms really could use some updating. I was in a premier room, which was a sort of mini suite, and I thought it was in fine shape. I learned that all the rooms do not have flat screen TVs as mine did also. The food service in our meeting was fantastic, and better than many I have had in these situations. The general breakfast service was great also, with waffles, pastries, etc. as well as made to order omlettes for $2 extra. The location of the hotel is great for easy access to the interstate, but not so great for much else. If you need to be near restaurants, mall, etc, then I would suggest staying at the Newberry or Archer Rd. exits in Gainesville.

We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant called "Gators Den." Basically a sportsbar, and not much else. Good for watching a game, but dont expect much in terms of the food.

Overall, we had a great experience at this hotel, and would gladly suggest it in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deej696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Tried to book a three star hotel in Gainesville......and even when left in the dark(priceline) had a hard time finding anything at a reasonable price.
Called the Best Western......was quoted a very reasonable price including extended Continental breakfast- great service and extremely clean and pleasant hotel.
Great beds(slept like a rock), good breakfast, fast check in and check out.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUTCHANDFREE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Because these motels are individual franchises, you can never be sure what you will get, but this is a good motel. Even though it is less than 100 feet from I-75, I could not hear the traffic when inside the room. This motel has a ballroom and hosts quite a few functions, so maybe that's why it is a bit nicer than most. The entrance architecture is quite appealing as are the lobby/breakfast and other common areas which are quite nice and spacious. The breakfast room looks out on the outdoor pool and hot tub which looks nice. The restaurant looked appealing and had a good menu, but I was visiting family and never had time to eat there.

The rooms are fairly standard, with no fridge or microwave, and no flat screen TV. Although the rooms are good size, they have two double beds rather than queen beds. There are rooms with one king bed, but groups of 3 or 4 would have to share double beds if they got only one room. The heating unit had a loud blower. The beds were average quality and medium hard. The closet is quite large but the bathroom is quite small. The shower head and pressure are good. The vanity is outside the tub/toilet area.

The continental breakfast included make your own Belgian waffles and a microwave to heat up potato cakes stuffed with ham and cheese and an assortment of pastries. There was a good selection of breakfast items. The vending machines have a wide range of drinks and snacks.

There were some nice touches such as free newspapers and cookies in mid-afternoon. There is a good size tourist info rack in the lobby. The motel has a fitness center and a salon. The staff was friendly and helpful.

There are more than a dozen motels along I-75 in Gainesville, so I would recommend this motel if the price was right.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dutch Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We have been staying at this hotel frequently as a family member is in hospital near here. The rooms are spacious and clean. There is a lovely outdoor pool. Breakfasts complete and available early. Lovely staff -let me check in at 9am today. Obviously, it's not the Ritz but it is a perfectly satisfactory place to stay. Be sure to visit nearby state parks and springs. This is a lovely part of Florida.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I normally don't expect much of the Best Western brand, but this hotel really surprised me. The front desk staff couldn't have been nicer. The room (especially the matress and the desk) could have stood to be replaced. This is a bit on the outskirts of Gainesville, so if you're looking to be in the thick of it, don't stay here. Then again, the town is relatively small, so nothing is all that far. The pool area was absolutely beautiful, with very nice chaise lounges and chairs. The gym was not the best I've ever seen, but decent enough for a hotel in this class. The breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed over the weekend,rooms were clean>But we discovered a stray cat had been living out on property for 1 month-They would not feed it or call animal control and when confronted they said it lived off a big field behind the hotel>I called management but they were ignorant and unhelpful as well as other emplyees

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
436 reviews
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
581 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
8.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Grand

Property: Best Western Gateway Grand
Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing