We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Grand
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 18, 2014

good place to stay ample parking breakfast OK room OK. Best thing for breakfast hard boiled egg. Internet worked fine. Place is a bit dated but i was only using the hotel to sleep and the place was quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thanks for choosing the BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand for your trip through Gainesville. I am glad you were able to make use of our free continental breakfast and free wireless internet while you were here.

I understand your concerns about the dated nature of the décor. I am happy to announce that by the end of next month all of our Traditional Double and King Deluxe rooms will receive completely new hardwood furniture that bring a sleek new feel to our guest rooms.

Please stop by again soon so you have a chance to enjoy our newly renovated rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Gateway Grand
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 842 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

Best Hotel for the Money any where. We have stayed in2 other Best Western Plus Hotels and if they are available we will be there. They can not be beat for the value quality and comfort. They are our motel of choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

We are very honored that you hold our Best Western Brand in such high esteem! As a Best Western, we are committed to a high standard of excellence for guest service and cleanliness that allow our guests to feel confidant that they room they reserve will lead to a great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

very nice place-nice staff-breakfast the usual soso-overpriced smaller room,but maybe because we asked for early checkin which was granted[another nicety] overall,a very good experience ,except we were surprised that we booked through a service,not BW direct which was $25 more .Beware of trying for BW international reservations-not one-but a booking agency that simply says"reservations desk" and afterwards tells you the$25 charge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank berdam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. While we can't guarantee it, we always do our best to get guests checked-in as early as possible, at no extra charge. I am sorry to hear that you had some difficulty booking with us directly. Please be aware that all of Front Desk agents will immediately introduce themselves as being from our specific property. As our staff is the most familiar with the property, I always recommend that guests call us directly so we can find the room type and rate that will work best for their stay. We can also answer questions for you about the area attractions that a call center might not have!

We'll look forward to your call during your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Comfortable stay. Pleasant staff. Great little lounge (Gator Den). Excellent location, easy access to I-75 and just a short drive to UF. Breakfast hours go later than most hotels, a big plus. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay! We are so happy that you were able to enjoy our free continental breakfast and visit our full service sports bar & grill, the Gators Den. We are fortunate to have an amazing food service staff who all look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Best Best Western Hotel we've stayed at in the US. Good location with good service, comfortable beds and good breakfast. The front desk staff, checking and checking out, were very courteous and the transactions were very efficient. Everyone with whom we had contact were very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was quiet, very nice for sleeping. We definitely would stay there again if visiting Gainesville.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Hal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. Our desire is that when you stay you feel like family, I will make sure that our entire staff has the opportunity to see how their efforts impacted your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Always an excellent place to stay and park free. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast. When you check in, you will likely find cookies and fruit available. I have received complimentary water on occasion when checking in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your kind words! I'm so happy to hear that the cookies have made an impression on you. We always bake them fresh around check-in time as a way to welcome our guests to the BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand! We're always trying new treats and flavors so keep an eye out on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

When arriving to this hotel I thought it would just be a typical best western especially since it was right off the interstate. However, the first thing we enjoyed was that it was right next to Dairy Queen and Dunkin Donuts which came in handy for snacks or meals. When we walked into the hotel late afternoon the hotel was amazing. Very clean and organized lobby area which you can also see the eating area. I was able to use my state employee discount which made the room very affordable. The hotel was full because of a church convention but you would have never noticed because the hotel is so large you hardly see anyone unless your eating in the common area or swimming in the nice big pool they have. The breakfast was so so. You had to pay an extra $3 if you want eggs or an omellete. The only breakfast that is free was the do it yourself waffles, bagels, muffins, cereal and fruit. The two main reasons I chose this hotel was for the room service and it was pet friendly. They do have a restaurant as part of the hotel which serves up a variety of food. I would personally recommend the Florida Orange Cake. OMG!!! Sooooo Good :). Overall the experience was great and the only complain I had was the parking. Due to the hotel being packed to maximum capacity when we backed at the hotel after dinner we had to park a good ways away and walk to the hotel entrance. Other than that I would say if your staying in Gainesville and looking for a nice place to stay this would be it. Its right off the interstate but you do not even hear the traffic at all.

Room Tip: I would request a room away from the pool which is usually a little loud because most of the visitor...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seminole52486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments! We are so glad that our on-site restaurant, the Gators Den Sports Grill, and close proximity to the Dairy Queen and Dunkin Donuts made your stay more convenient!

The Florida Orange Cake you had at the Gators Den is a fan favorite, and of course we have other great desserts for you to try on your next stay, like the Chocolate Grand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#7 of 46 in Gainesville
449 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 46 in Gainesville
596 reviews
8.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
6.1 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $87 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing