We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Grand
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We almost always stay at Best westerns. And we have to say that this hotel was top notch. If ever back in that area; would without hesitation stay there. It was absolutely spectacular. Hotel and staff. Food was very good. Have to say this hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in. The bar was an added perk to unwind in. We like to find ones that have a bar in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 850 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here one night while on business trip. Staff was friendly and had everything ready for my arrival. Check-in (and out) was a breeze. Room request (to be away from elevator and stairs), was accommodated without any issue. I enjoyed a very quiet evening and a great night's sleep. Though I didn't have time to use the pool or exercise equipment, I was impressed with the hotel layout and condition. Very convenient location and easy to get in and out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogfather96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Staff was freindly and professional, great value, beautiful pool and Jacuzzi, sports bar and restaurant on premises, clean, rooms well laid out for the business traveler like myself. Breakfast was great and had hot items but if you wanted a freshly made omelette it was $3.00 extra.

Room Tip: My roon was next to the pool and It was on a Sunday evening so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Orlando, Florida
1
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The king room was amazing. Microwave, fridge, excellent living room with couch and lounge chairs. Nice size, excellent breakfast, friendly staff. The room was nice, bed comfortable. Breakfast had optional omlette station that was great. Kids loved making waffles and we all enjoyed the fruit, juces, and coffee. This is a mid range hotel that feel, runs, and acts like a high end resort. If you have to stay in a hotel, this one is worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here with my family this past weekend. My mother in law recently moved to Gainesville and my husband did some research and felt that this was the best of the worst hotels in Gainesville. There are some pros and cons with this hotel. The pro's - it has a very nice swimming pool and pool area. The breakfast is not bad. They have coffee available 24 hours a day and it is always fresh. The restaurant (bar) attached to the hotel has very good bar food. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Hotel is centrally located to highway and is easy to get around.

The con's - prior to my arrival I requested a non-smoking room which was going to be adjoining to our king size bed room for our kids. My son has asthma. Someone had smoked in that room. They were unable to switch rooms for me. The housekeeping gentlemen on duty was very kind to come and spray the room which helped a bit. The temperature in the room cannot be controlled although there is a thermostat. The air conditioning when it goes on can wake the dead. The bathroom was way too small. The housekeeping on staff on Sunday, 10/13/13 were so nasty. They were two woman cleaning the rooms. I requested towels because none had been placed in my room and they were rude and proceeded to say "those people in room 169 are the biggest pain in the rear." Mind you, other than making a request for a non-smoking room we had not complained about a thing. The fitness room was dirty. The machines were not clean. The wipe dispenser to clean the machines was empty.

Also, this hotel is not cheap so when you are paying more than $250.00 a night you expect a bit more than the Comfort Inn. Gainesville does not have many hotels to choose from so my guess is that this is the best of the worst. If you have other options go with those.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSSCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Staff was helpful, rooms were clean, hotel is close to interstate and not to far from downtown Gainesville, breakfast lacked hot meals. The restaurant food was good and not overpriced. Overall, the price and value of the hotel was great!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Alfredo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was convenient for the Florida gators game but that is it. The rooms are outdated. Lobby area is better maintained than the room. We could not check in until 4:00 p.m. They would not let us check in early, not even an hour early. As soon as we checked in, we had to head to the stadium. We did not have time to rest. The omelets for breakfast were not good either. The outside and lobby look better than the rooms. Some light bulbs were also out in the room. Beds were not comfortable either. I expected better. Looks can be deceiving.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
8.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $107 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing