We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Everything about this hotel Is great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Monticello, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything about this hotel Is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Staff was freindly and professional, great value, beautiful pool and Jacuzzi, sports bar and restaurant on premises, clean, rooms well laid out for the business traveler like myself. Breakfast was great and had hot items but if you wanted a freshly made omelette it was $3.00 extra.

Room Tip: My roon was next to the pool and It was on a Sunday evening so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    180
    69
    27
    22
See reviews for
210
137
47
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The king room was amazing. Microwave, fridge, excellent living room with couch and lounge chairs. Nice size, excellent breakfast, friendly staff. The room was nice, bed comfortable. Breakfast had optional omlette station that was great. Kids loved making waffles and we all enjoyed the fruit, juces, and coffee. This is a mid range hotel that feel, runs, and acts like a high end resort. If you have to stay in a hotel, this one is worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here with my family this past weekend. My mother in law recently moved to Gainesville and my husband did some research and felt that this was the best of the worst hotels in Gainesville. There are some pros and cons with this hotel. The pro's - it has a very nice swimming pool and pool area. The breakfast is not bad. They have coffee available 24 hours a day and it is always fresh. The restaurant (bar) attached to the hotel has very good bar food. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Hotel is centrally located to highway and is easy to get around.

The con's - prior to my arrival I requested a non-smoking room which was going to be adjoining to our king size bed room for our kids. My son has asthma. Someone had smoked in that room. They were unable to switch rooms for me. The housekeeping gentlemen on duty was very kind to come and spray the room which helped a bit. The temperature in the room cannot be controlled although there is a thermostat. The air conditioning when it goes on can wake the dead. The bathroom was way too small. The housekeeping on staff on Sunday, 10/13/13 were so nasty. They were two woman cleaning the rooms. I requested towels because none had been placed in my room and they were rude and proceeded to say "those people in room 169 are the biggest pain in the rear." Mind you, other than making a request for a non-smoking room we had not complained about a thing. The fitness room was dirty. The machines were not clean. The wipe dispenser to clean the machines was empty.

Also, this hotel is not cheap so when you are paying more than $250.00 a night you expect a bit more than the Comfort Inn. Gainesville does not have many hotels to choose from so my guess is that this is the best of the worst. If you have other options go with those.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSSCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Staff was helpful, rooms were clean, hotel is close to interstate and not to far from downtown Gainesville, breakfast lacked hot meals. The restaurant food was good and not overpriced. Overall, the price and value of the hotel was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alfredo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was convenient for the Florida gators game but that is it. The rooms are outdated. Lobby area is better maintained than the room. We could not check in until 4:00 p.m. They would not let us check in early, not even an hour early. As soon as we checked in, we had to head to the stadium. We did not have time to rest. The omelets for breakfast were not good either. The outside and lobby look better than the rooms. Some light bulbs were also out in the room. Beds were not comfortable either. I expected better. Looks can be deceiving.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I am extremely picky when it comes to hotels, and never stay in Best Westerns, but this is what was available, so we booked it. I thought for $289/night, it can't be that bad! Was able to check into our room at noon on a Saturday. The front desk clerk was very courteous. All the staff were very friendly. This is a pet friendly hotel, which is also why we stayed here. Our room was clean, everything was new, no sign of previous pets. I saw the previous review about the mattress (again something I am very picky about) and my bed was great! The pool was fantastic. The Gator's Den sports pub was great too. I was worried that it would be loud at night after the Florida game, but didn't hear a thing! There is free internet. The free breakfast was just okay. The only reason I did not give it an excellent review, is that I think the price was steep. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caribfun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had family of 6 for football game and reunion. Motel service for all areas was TOPS. Would definitely stay there again. Hospitality, service and facilities were excellent. Reunion banquet meal was good . Appearance and facilities were all I could expect. Would stay there again if I was there again. If I had to find one thing to say negative, it would be that it was closer to the university.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainesville
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
7.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#11 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Property: BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing