We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Grand
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place gets the job done. I had business in Newberry so this is the closest full service hotel. The rooms are big and the property is spacious. The hotel is a little tired, however they keep up with the maintenance. I ate dinner in the sports bar which was lively on Friday night before the Gator home football game. Speaking of that, the team spend the night here before home games. So there is a wake up ritual to be aware of, just know,it's not a fire alarm. I would stay here again, good internet, service and quiet.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank CactusPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We hope your stay wasn’t too noisy with the football team wake up on Saturday morning. The celebration did continue with the fans after the Gators win in Gators Den Sports Grill. The Gators will be joining us for all their home games and we’re confident they will all be “wins” at the swamp. Hope to see you during the next football game. Thanks for the great comments. Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 851 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

This BW is a great place to stay! Convenient location, friendly staff and great restaurant on premises. Room is always clean and very quiet to ensure a good nights rest before traveling onward. Plenty of things to do locally if you have time to spare. We always make this BW a "destination" in our travels and use it as a halfway point when meeting friends from north Florida.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thanks for the excellent comments. I noticed you mentioned plenty of things to do in the local area. Our web site at gatewaygrand.com lists plenty of area attractions and has links to all the best happenings in Gainesville. We hope to see you on your next trip to the Gainesville area. Have a great day. Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel needs small gift shop & daily newspapers for sale; restaurant breakfast needs meat other than pork; you must close bathroom stall door to access toilet paper. Hotel should inform guests at check-in if room does not have tub (and shower only).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Our king accessible rooms are the only rooms that have showers and do not have bath tubs in order to help with wheel chair accessibility for a disabled person. These rooms are at the same price as our standard double room. We will review your comments in our staff meeting to see if we can add some of the requested items to make a guests stay more enjoyable. Thank you. Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visited my son in college. Hotel has great service and very reasonable rates. It is very clean and the free breakfast is great because it includes both hot and cold meals. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your great comments. Remember during your next visit to Gainesville that the Best Western Plus Gateway Grand has parents rates for parents visiting their kids at the University of Florida or Santa Fe College. These rates are available all year long except for special event weekends. Have a nice day. Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

unhappy with stay, had to pay for our kids, which the one reason we chose BW we Kids stay free...but after the hectic check in we come to find out its based on each hotel..so double check next time you choose to stay at a BW. I know I do now. cuz Im not going to fall prey too that. I think its bad business to charge for kids under 17. we could have lied about not even having any children wtih us. so just beware next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mishie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

I am wondering if you stayed at the Best Western Plus Gateway Grand? We definitely don't charge for kids. As a matter of fact, our hotel has flat rates so we charge the same rate for 1 to 5 people in a room unless they rent an extra cot or crib from us. Please call me "Ron" or Vince our front office manager so we can straighten out this problem. Thanks Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

They have great service. All the way thru. The restaurant is also very good. Good hospitality - southern style. Pool is great too. The room is fine too but the bed sheets need to be a little newer. It looks overused. The towels are fine. The carpet could need a little help too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
41
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was impressed with the level of service and the caring staff. They really know their stuff and keep their guests happy. The pool was great and the lounge was very friendly and inviting. The décor was very southwestern and very comftorable beds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
8.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $107 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing