We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good catch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Grand
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived late afternoon without a reservation and were immediately offered a large room which we accepted. Upon closer inspection there are smaller rooms in the hotel, at a smaller price but we were happy with the room we had. Large, clean, comfortable. The hotel itself caters to small meetings and is thus much more spacious in the lobby area than most roadside hotels. They have a terrific outdoor pool and hot tub which we couldn't use because of poor weather but others were using the hot tub regardless. There is a decent restaurant attached, which is a good thing because nothing else is within walking distance. Front desk staff was pleasant and efficient. The only thing they might have done is tell us about the smaller rooms and smaller price, but perhaps none were available on this rainy night. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask about the pricing for the smaller rooms vs. the larger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments. We do sell out quite a bit, and I'm not sure if that is the reason the front desk did not mention the other smaller room but I will make sure our front office manager covers the issue on his next training session with the desk. Have a great day, hope to be of service to you again. Ron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 851 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights while we were on a diving trip at the local freshwater springs because this hotel was central to our diving locations and 20 min from each of them.

(The Good): The hotel grounds and outside were appealing and well kept we noticed as we first arrived. The front desk clerk and staff seemed friendly and helpful. The hair dryer in the room we were given caught fire and burned up the first time we used it and the staff at the front desk offered us another room without hassle until that one could be replaced. Breakfast was pleasant (standard continental, yet for $3 extra an attendant would make a pretty darn good omelet for you which we tried and liked.) Pool area was clean and well kept. Bed Sheets were clean and smelled fresh.

(The Bad): The room was not cleaned thoroughly. Upon arrival we found hair clinging to the shower walls, the tile floor was gritty feeling and when I went to unpack my suitcase of clothes and put them in the dresser drawers I stopped because there were several wads of hair in the bottom (yech!!!) so I just left all our clothes packed in the suitcase. The carpets are stained and look dirty in our room.

Overall thoughts - I was able to obtain this room at a large discount through an online travel site so I'm not going to blast this hotel. They are doing a lot of things right here and it wasn't bad...not at all. We would stay here again for the price we paid. I would offer to the hotel management however that if they want to go from being average to great, that they upgrade the room furnishings, clean or replace the carpet and closely inspect the room cleanliness after the cleaning staff finishes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atomic-Style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I will make sure our executive housekeeper is aware of your comments. They will help us with our training program within housekeeping. We hope to see you again. Ron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was in Gainesville for the Santa Fe Spring Art show, and I believe this was the hotel they included with their mail out to artists. Not a good choice. The hotel carpets seemed dirty, and the room had a distinct odor. This is a pet friendly hotel by the way, which had I known....... Any way the staff did offer to move me but after setting up my tent I was just too tired to care. The bed was very soft and obviously needed replacing.

Now, the staff was helpful and professional. The manager responded to my survey response by saying thr hotel was due for some renewal, carpets and beds, and I appreciated his response.

The sports bar was excellent, food good and friendly service.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank whcowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

I am so sorry your stay wasn't excellent. The manager that told you the carpet is being replaced this year was correct. We will be replacing all of the hallway carpet this year as well as starting our room renovations which will include the beds. We are one of the only hotels that offer a performing arts and festivals rate in Gainesville. We hope to serve you again. Ron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times, hoping to earn a free night soon. It is very pleasant, the restaurant is very good as well as the breakfast. We especially like the rooms and the separate sitting area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryp827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to be your host and have you stay with us many more times. Have a great day. Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here many times while attending a horse show in Gainesville. Hotel staff always friendly and helpful. On every visit they have given us coupons for the Gator Den Restaurant which has always provided a wonderful meal. Rooms reasonably priced, clean, and comfortable. This is my hotel of choice whenever visiting Gainesville.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oahuvistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your great comments! We are hosting the Citrus Cup Morgan Horse competition this weekend and hope to host many more horse events. We hope you will stay here every time you need a room in Gainesville. If we ever forget the coupon for our sports grill, please feel free to ask the desk and they will be glad to give you one. Have a great day. Ron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We loved our room. Very nice staff. Nice size rooms and a great shower. Will stay here again when we are in the area when we are anywhere close to this area. Our daughter in law loves the Florida Gators so she had to have her photo taken with all the Gator things around the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pigfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for the excellent comments. I will share them with the staff of the hotel. We also love*** the Florida Gators. The football team will be staying with us before every home game this coming season. Have a great day. Ron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at this property in an upgraded suite with our dogs and paid the $20 pet fee. We have been very pleased before. This year, we were put in a room in the front of the hotel, even though we had requested a room in the rear and the carpet in the room was filthy. Is this the kind of room they are giving people with dogs now? I understand that not all pet owners are responsible, but what does the $20 fee go for? I would think it would be extra cleaning when necessary. Perhaps this was an old room in need of renovation, but for my total of $154.07 cleanliness is expected at a "plus" property. We stayed in room 335. I will think twice before booking this property again which is a shame. I really appreciate other amenities of the room (little living room, nice size fridge with freezer compartment, micro, flat panel, lots of channels, nice dog walking area with disposal bags.) Room decor is dated, but bed is comfortable. Housekeeping also needs to do a better job of cleaning in the corners and ledges, especially around the sink.

Room Tip: Be sure to check your room carefully before you accept it. Avoid room 335 unless they clean thoroug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

I am so very sorry that you received a room that didn't meet your expectations. Every month we have a separate floor of the hotel's carpet shampooed. All of the hallway carpeting will be replaced this year. I will pass along your comments to the housekeeping executive to include in our weekly and monthly training. Again, I'm sorry your experience wasn't good. Ron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
8.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $107 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing