We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filthy carpet” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Filthy carpet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at this property in an upgraded suite with our dogs and paid the $20 pet fee. We have been very pleased before. This year, we were put in a room in the front of the hotel, even though we had requested a room in the rear and the carpet in the room was filthy. Is this the kind of room they are giving people with dogs now? I understand that not all pet owners are responsible, but what does the $20 fee go for? I would think it would be extra cleaning when necessary. Perhaps this was an old room in need of renovation, but for my total of $154.07 cleanliness is expected at a "plus" property. We stayed in room 335. I will think twice before booking this property again which is a shame. I really appreciate other amenities of the room (little living room, nice size fridge with freezer compartment, micro, flat panel, lots of channels, nice dog walking area with disposal bags.) Room decor is dated, but bed is comfortable. Housekeeping also needs to do a better job of cleaning in the corners and ledges, especially around the sink.

Room Tip: Be sure to check your room carefully before you accept it. Avoid room 335 unless they clean thoroug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I am so very sorry that you received a room that didn't meet your expectations. Every month we have a separate floor of the hotel's carpet shampooed. All of the hallway carpeting will be replaced this year. I will pass along your comments to the housekeeping executive to include in our weekly and monthly training. Again, I'm sorry your experience wasn't good. Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    197
    76
    28
    22
See reviews for
242
149
54
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Although I stayed here just one night I think it would be a good place to stay for several nights. It appears that the hotel is a newer one with a conference center and a sports bar attached. I stayed in a king room on the third floor near the elevator on a week night and it was very quiet. For $109 this room is above average. The room is more like an executive room with a couch that is also a pullout bed and two upholstered chairs, one in the sitting room and one in the sleeping area. There is a microwave, small fridge and a small sink (wet bar area). The breakfast area is large and a full hot breakfast buffet is good. Did not use the pool or hot tub but they look nice. Also heard some say they liked their room with a jacuzzi tub.

Room Tip: There are several restaurants close by, as well as a Dairy Queen and Dunkin Donuts just a short walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosierNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments! Most business people that stay with us like the king premier or king deluxe rooms, which is the type of room you had. I'm very glad the living room area and little kitchenette added to your stay. We hope that if you're in the Gainesville area again you will use the Gateway Grand. Have a great day. Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just a bit dated in carpet and furniture, but it feels kind of old world elegant! A great value for the price. Staff really great, pool area is lovely. Our king suite spacious and quiet. Even the fitness center nicely done. Vince did such a great sales job on the phone--- and it was good!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maashouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We will be replacing the hall carpets and guest room furniture this year. Hopefully that will add the elegance of the hotel. We hope to see you the next time you're in Gainesville. Have an excellent day. Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past year while in Gainesville with my sister who was having hip replacement surgery at the hospital there. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It is right on the interstate just about 7 miles up the road from the Archer Street exit where we had to go to the hospital. It is just enough out of town to make it convenient the night before surgery to get to the hospital the next morning and also convenient to get back on the road to come home from there. The rooms are nice, the breakfast is awesome! Everything you can imagine to be on a hotel breakfast menu is there. They have a nice pool. The staff has always been very pleasant and accommodating for us.

Room Tip: Good price on Priceline. Rooms on the first floor are very accessible for a wheel chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adkinsonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petal, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice hotel. We chose Best Western (BW) because we have a "Rewards Card" and have stayed in several BW before on our trips. In our experiences, we found BW hotels are comfortable, pleasant, clean and affordable. However,at this particular one, we experienced several "snags".
To start with, neither of the 2 keys we were given worked. We were given 2 new keys and they didn't work. We were told to use the hall phone and call the "house man" to help us. We did. We waited. He never came. Finally after about 20 plus minutes since our 1st key wouldn't work, the desk clerk arrived. She tried the keys too and still they wouldn't open the door. Finally she gave us the "master key".
We tried to log-on to the free internet service without success. We were given a code but it wasn't accepted.
The temperature controls did not work. The room was cold.
Several light bulbs were burned out. Most disturbing were the ones over the night stand - for obvious reasons.
And, finally, the snooze light on the alarm clock could not be turned off. This was annoying as we like to sleep in total darkness and we didn't know if an alarm would sound after we fell asleep. We covered the clock with a piece of paper. Luckily it did not go off.
The next morning at the counter to check out, we asked if the key situation had been reported. It had not!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet53009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
7.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#5 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Property: BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
Address: 4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing