We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Gateway Grand
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge West(Gainesville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn Gainesville(Gainesville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Gainesville(Gainesville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (946)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveler rating
543
248
95
33
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
248
95
33
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomeletbest westernshot tubfree breakfastwafflesking roomgreat place to stayvery nice hotelnice poolstaying at this hoteleasy accessfront desk staffgainesville areafitness centerwould definitely stay here againnice stayconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
828 - 833 of 946 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Room not as clean as expected, older hotel, staff not very helpful, room is very much over priced.. Not a $100.00 + room maybe a 79.00 or 89.00 at most. My suggestion would be to check elsewhere before checking in

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaBear3024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

I'm so sorry your experience wasn't up to your expectations. We will work to improve our staff's helpfulness and the hotels cleanliness. Have a great day. Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Not sure what I expected when we made our reservation as I have not stayed at a Best Western in decades and never heard of Best Western Plus. What I found was a very pleasant surprise. Breakfast is among the best of the "free" breakfasts that are so popular today. Waffles, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, breads and rolls are all abundant. Fresh cooked omlets or scrambled eggs are available for only $3.00 more and they are huge. Our room was large, but with two problems. First, a better job of training staff on how to clean the room is appropriate. Several strands of somebody else's hair clung to the shower wall throughout our four days (we did not advise the staff but waited for them to correct it without our help). Scraps of paper were never picked up off the floor. Second, the air conditioner blows directly onto the bed. Some odd plastic thing keeps the air from blowing up, redirecting it onto those who are trying to sleep. This is Florida so turning the a/c off is not an option. Management can train staff how to clean, but fixing the a/c problem will be more difficult. I never thought I'd say this about anyplace, but they really need a larger sign. Without a Trip Advisor map, I'm not sure I'd have found the place. Searching for a sign became a minor game for my friends and family.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank dvomacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your comments. They are very helpful. I will make sure our Housekeeping Executive gets your comments so we can include them into our training. Our county limits signs and we've been trying for years to get one out on 39th avenue as a directional. You never know, maybe they will loosen the code in the future so we can put one up. Thanks again for the comments. Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was 1 of 5 females traveling to a Hunting Expo in Newberry to sell our "bling" designs. We opted for a room with a queen size bed, sofa bed and roll-away bed. The room was very clean with a small fridge coffee maker and micowave. The staff was "awesome" any time we needed anything (extra towels; blanket; coffee etc) they were there in minutes! When we asked one male staffer was there another ice machine closer to our room, he said "unfortunately, no"...but he would be happy to go get ice for us...and he did!!! The "complimentary" breakfast was very good, too. Several choices available which is very helpful when you stay 3 nights! We were also extremely impressed with the guest "welcome" note...never seen one like it before...nice wording, which again made us feel very welcomed! Met a young man (Joey) at the Hunting Expo that said he was personal friends with the owner so we told him how much we were enjoying our stay and to pass it on to his friend! Hope he got the message - we will certainly recommend this hotel to others heading that way!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. I will be sure to pass them along to our Housekeeping Executive. The gentleman that helped with the ice was Ray our Food & Beverage Manager. We try to keep "service" in all the training we do. We hope to see you next time you're at Easton Archery here in Gainesville. Have a great day. Ron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A pretty good place to stay. Free breakfast was pretty darn good! A little outdated decor, yet comfortable.. Pleased with staff. Pool and hot jacuzzi was nice after a long day. It was a great place where we could visit with other family members staying there.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank lemon737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for the nice comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay! I am happy to let you know we will be replaceing the carpeting this fall and the furniture in the rooms will start to be replaced in January.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were making an overnight stop on a long trip, and we chose this hotel simply out of convenience. We were pleasantly surprised to find lots of little things that made the stay more pleasant than the typical Interstate highway exit hotel. It's a nicer-looking building from the outside than most; the lobby is spacious; hallways are unusually wide; beds were extra comfortable; TV remote was the "Clean Remote", the type that can be easily sanitized (think about it!!); TV was a good sized flat panel; shower head was large, high type with plenty of waterflow; breakfast was unusually good and free -- waffle maker, pre-made Jimmy Dean breakfast biscuits, selection of breads, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, and Krispy Kreme donuts (glazed *and* chocolate frosted --yum). There was also an option for a custom-made omelet for $3 extra, which is a bargain. Our room was not luxurious, but it was clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. My favorite "pleasant surprise" was there were 3-outlet power strips both on the nightstand by the bedside, AND on the desk. For those of us who travel with multiple PCs, cell phones, a mi-fi card, and an iPad (OK, we're a bit over the top), it was great to have the extra plugs handy and not have to pull out furniture or crawl under things to find a place to plug things in. We didn't use the pool, but it looked very nice. And last of all, the hotel is about 500 yards off the interstate, and there's a nice big gas station between the hotel and the highway, so you can easily fill up the tank before getting back on the road, whichever direction you're going, without having to wait for a traffic light. All in all, a home run for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoosGoinOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience and pleasure with our amenity package at the Gateway Grand. We hope to serve you again next time you’re traveling on I-75. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews