We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Grand
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were making an overnight stop on a long trip, and we chose this hotel simply out of convenience. We were pleasantly surprised to find lots of little things that made the stay more pleasant than the typical Interstate highway exit hotel. It's a nicer-looking building from the outside than most; the lobby is spacious; hallways are unusually wide; beds were extra comfortable; TV remote was the "Clean Remote", the type that can be easily sanitized (think about it!!); TV was a good sized flat panel; shower head was large, high type with plenty of waterflow; breakfast was unusually good and free -- waffle maker, pre-made Jimmy Dean breakfast biscuits, selection of breads, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, and Krispy Kreme donuts (glazed *and* chocolate frosted --yum). There was also an option for a custom-made omelet for $3 extra, which is a bargain. Our room was not luxurious, but it was clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. My favorite "pleasant surprise" was there were 3-outlet power strips both on the nightstand by the bedside, AND on the desk. For those of us who travel with multiple PCs, cell phones, a mi-fi card, and an iPad (OK, we're a bit over the top), it was great to have the extra plugs handy and not have to pull out furniture or crawl under things to find a place to plug things in. We didn't use the pool, but it looked very nice. And last of all, the hotel is about 500 yards off the interstate, and there's a nice big gas station between the hotel and the highway, so you can easily fill up the tank before getting back on the road, whichever direction you're going, without having to wait for a traffic light. All in all, a home run for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoosGoinOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience and pleasure with our amenity package at the Gateway Grand. We hope to serve you again next time you’re traveling on I-75. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 851 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had to crash friday am, and then stay friday night. They offered very reasonable deal.for.friday am. Staff were very helpful. Hotel was clean, well planned layout with large atrium and pool facing west so you could see setting sun from.pool or atrium. Pool hours were long so you could enjoy facilities even after long day. I would Highly recommend this hotel when doing business or visiting friends in.gainesville area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for the comments on our staff's service. We strive to make every guests stay a unique experience. The sunset over the pool deck has always been one of my favorite features of the Gateway Grand. We hope to see you on your next visit to Gainesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family had to stay here for a few days due to home renovations. Staff is friendly, rooms are nice & breakfast is great :) The lobby and breakfast area are large with lots of sitting area. Will recommed out of town friends stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends. We hope to see you in our Gators Den Sports Grill or at one of our many banquets or social events since you live here in wonderful Gainesville. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here overnight while attending our niece's wedding. We were flying in from Detroit, and the wedding was at 5:00. The hotel had a 4:00 check in time which simply would not work for us. We needed an early check in, and they had our room ready when we arrived around 2:30. Anything we needed from an extra blanket for my elderly mother, to an umbrella to go get the car when it was literally raining buckets, to scissors, and printing of our boarding passes. Everyone was so friendly, and accomodating! The price was good. My only complaint is that I always like to have the small fridge and microwave. The breakfast buffet in the morning, offered more than most which included breakfast sandwiches, and for an additional $3.00 they had made to order omelets. While we did not use the pool. The pool area looked nice! I recommend this hotel if in the area for a decent price, clean accomodations, and excellent service!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We just spent a night at this hotel because of the price and it's proximity to the University of Florida. The hotel looked like a California hotel, very nice and off the beaten path. The decor was nice around the lobby area. There is a nice pool out back with a view of the ravine. The free breakfast was a plus there is a fridge on the other side of the service area where you can microwave Jimmy Dean bacon or ham and egg muffins. There is also an option for a three dollar omelet if you should feel like one. The server and cook both looked hard up for tips to a point where you may feel uncomfortable sitting at the dining area for longer than a few minutes. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The AC unit was extremely load every time the AC unit kicked on my wife and I were startled awake. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was very noisy too. For a nice hotel off the beaten path this hotel was very noisy.

Room Tip: Free cookies are served in the late afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fou4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

the place took great care of me made sure i was happy with all my need and went out of there way
rooms where great
over all 5 star

Room Tip: its the best in gainsville fl
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksum34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We received this selection through priceline. I didn't expect much in a college town and it was probably a good selection for the area and based on the other options. The property was sold out as there was obviously a softball tournament.

However, they had us on the first floor and right next to the pool -- but, even given all of the boys, we actually didn't hear anything.

The rooms are a bit dated, but they were clean and the amenities fine.

They do offer one of the most extensive breakfasts outside of Embassy Suites.

Room Tip: Select the first floor. We were given the option and I asked the front desk what they would choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXChleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
8.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $107 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing