We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exterior exceeds interior.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Grand
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We got this room using priceline, and it was supposed to be a 3 star. The exterior looks like a 3 star, but that's about it. It was a clean place, but the rooms were older and more like a 2 star. They have a free breakfast, but if you want eggs or an omelet you have to pay $3 extra.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auntjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Gateway Grand
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 842 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

Don't normally stay at Best Western hotels but this was a very pleasant surprise. Got a great corporate rate and quiet room poolside. Staff was awesome. Rooms are a little dated but clean and mattress was very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed three nights here in January 2012. The hotel staff were exceptional, friendly and helpful. The deluxe room we had was well laid out and the only complaint was the AC was loud and you could not turn down the fan. Recommend. The restaurat Gators, was another story. Poor service, food was so-so.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over Christmas with our Golden Retriever and found this to be one of the most pet friendly hotels we've stayed. Large area's to walk the dog, outside plastic bags to pick up after dogs, friendly staff who made you and your pet feel welcome. Will definitly stay there again should we be in Gainesville. Carpet in our room was old and could have been a bit cleaner but I think they have a section of the hotel that is for folks traveling with pets and upgrade non pet areas first. Anyway, if your traveling and have pets I would recommend the Best Western in Gainesville.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orange76nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Upon check-in, I was welcomed with an impressive lobby (something that I was pleasantly suprised with and not expecting at a Best Western). The check-in process was very quick and yet ther was another surpise-iced cold lemonade and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. Although I did not request it, I was given a handicap accessable room. My room size was adequate. It was equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The air conditioner did make a very loud noise when it went on/off (nothing that I coud not deal with). The pool was very well kept. The complimentary breakfast was perfect for my needs-coffee and a yogurt. You could opt for an upgraded breakfast that also included an omelete. I did have the opportunity to eat at the restaurant. It reminded me of a collegiate pub with Gator memorabilia all around. (had a burger and fries and it was perfect.)
What I was most impressed with was the customer service. The hotel offers a complimentary airport shuttle service. Upon departure, my flight was at 5:20am. The shuttle driver was not due in to work until 6:00am. The front desk arranged for him to come in early in order to take me to the airport. I was extremely grateful.
As far as location, there are plenty of restaurants (chain-like and others) and strip malls around. I was attending a conference at the University of Florida, which was approximatley 15 minutes away, depending on traffic. I would definitely stay at this property again

Room Tip: My room wsa located opposite the I-75 highway side hence, there was no noise
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea3517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I pricelined this hotel for my family of 4. It's always a little risky with 4 people because Priceline doesn't gurantee beds for all 4 people. This was the case on Dec 26th. We arrived late and there were no doubles available. The manager however was very nice and said he would move another reservation around to find us a double room if the King room didn't work out. When we got to our room however the king room actually had a double bed in the sofa so we told him he did not have to move us. We only stayed for the night but it was very modern, worthy of a 3 star rating. Room was clean as well. They also have a complimentary hot breakfast buffet in the morning that include an omelet station, bacon, biscuits and gravy, donuts, fruit, juice, milk, etc...

Room Tip: King rooms also have extra bed in couch.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I've stayed here a couple times, visiting my son at the University, the rooms are spacious and clean, the lounge has very reasonable drink prices, the breakfast is very plentiful with a great variety but the pool is awesome. Great place to hang out, w/family, have a drink by the heated, sparkling clean pool. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 1st floor, too much noise.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BakerCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 46 in Gainesville
449 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 46 in Gainesville
596 reviews
8.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
6.1 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $87 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing