We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still looking for the "grand" part”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Grand
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still looking for the "grand" part”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I'm very surprised at the great reviews this hotel has received. The hotel looked nice from the parking lot and the common areas were inviting and appealing, but once we got to the room - it was a dump. Room and furnishings were very old and not well maintained. The carpet in the room was heavily stained and slightly damp in some spots. Beds were very small and uncomfortable. Bedding was inadequate; one very thin "blanket" that was not warm at all. Breakfast was complimentary, unless you want eggs or waffles- extra charge for those (?!?!?). Overall, very disappointed. The only positive was the rate - got it on hotwire for $54 a night. Not sure it was even worth that, but at least glad I didn't pay more. .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margarita223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    223
    84
    33
    24
See reviews for
301
161
57
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I bidded on priceline. Hotel is clean,and staff is friendly and helpful. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Close to interstate. Rooms are small and beds not real comfortable. Rooms are inside. Free internet. Not the greatest but not terrible either. Got a good rate. Has a bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristen9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed 4 nights here and had a nice stay. I was in a business plus room that had a couch and extra room that made it comfortable. The breakfast had a good variety of food and offered omlettes for an extra $2; a good deal. There was a descent work out room, pool, and hot tub. I had no issues with the wireless internet. Since I am a light sleeper, I thought the fan in the room was too loud however this is my only complaint. The hotel is not very close to UF/downtown so keep this in mind if you don't have a car. Call ahead for the complimentary airport shuttle.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel over Easter weekend and had a wonderful stay. The only negative was that the bedding really needs to be updated. However, access to Interstate 75 is very easy, the facilities are lovely, the large pool area was very inviting, and the Sunday morning breakfast was delicious. I read in some of the reviews that the hotel charged for eggs and waffles; but that was not the case for us. There were not only waffles and hard-boiled eggs...but they also had biscuits and gravy, fruit, doughnuts, cereals, etc. And the large breakfast room overlooking the pool area was a beautiful place to begin our Easter Sunday celebrations.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacherkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed for a weekend during a wedding at the Best Western Gateway Grand. Rooms were nice. King rooms are much nicer than double rooms. King rooms have separate couch and sitting area, and have flat screen televisions. Double rooms do not have flat screen televisions and separate sitting area. Beds and bedding should be replaced; they just aren't up to a level that one would expect in a hotel nowadays. Housekeeping was very poor. They weren't efficient at cleaning our room timely, and they did not do a very good job when they did clean. Wedding was exceptional. Service staff was very friendly and food was surprisingly tasty.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom,WA
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

If "stress" is any part of your trip, I would recommend this hotel. They have designed the hotel lobby to maximize the view. It's essentially just a rural view, but they built the hotel so that it looks out over the green area. I need to stay in this area to attend to family health needs, but haven't found a place I like in the Newberry Rd. area. Gateway Grand fills the bill. It's on a direct road from the airport, as well as I-75. There are fast food and other dining options close by, as well as a Publix and Walgreens.

The hotel is very clean, quiet and has free wi-fi. There is a business center for printing boarding passes. The staff is great; pleasant as well as helpful. Eggs are available for a small fee. I actually like the idea of paying if you want eggs. I'd rather have that option that nothing.

I still think their weak link is their restaurant. It seems to stay busy, but I probably won't eat there again. The food is nothing remarkable and the service this time was mediocre.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patio53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Stayed here on a long road trip from Texas to Florida for family needs.

This hotel is away from the main Gainesville exits (furthest north) but for traveling through, it is a great stop.
ROOMS--very spacious! Clean and beds were comfortable.
BREAKFAST--typical hotel bkfst fare. However-- they charged for eggs or waffles...can't quite figure that one out, since all other hotels I stay at , those items are included.
RESTAURANT--sports bar/rest. on site--prices kind of typical, a bit on the high side if you have kids. Other restaurants are on same exit, but on the other side of the interstate.
COST--good value for the room size
PARKING--THIS was kinda crazy. Due to the sports bar (I'm assuming) the parking lot is packed and we had to park far away from the hotel entrance and out by the road (we arrived about 7:00 p.m. This was not so convenient for two women traveling with children. I noticed this remark on another review and thought it would be a one time deal....evidently not.

STAFF--ok. I was at 7 different hotels on this trip and I wouldn't say the staff here was OVERly friendly, just adequate. Did alot of talking among themselves while we waited in line to check in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txtraveler077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
436 reviews
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
583 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
8.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Grand

Property: Best Western Gateway Grand
Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing