We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Gainsville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Grand
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed 4 nights here and had a nice stay. I was in a business plus room that had a couch and extra room that made it comfortable. The breakfast had a good variety of food and offered omlettes for an extra $2; a good deal. There was a descent work out room, pool, and hot tub. I had no issues with the wireless internet. Since I am a light sleeper, I thought the fan in the room was too loud however this is my only complaint. The hotel is not very close to UF/downtown so keep this in mind if you don't have a car. Call ahead for the complimentary airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Gateway Grand
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 842 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel over Easter weekend and had a wonderful stay. The only negative was that the bedding really needs to be updated. However, access to Interstate 75 is very easy, the facilities are lovely, the large pool area was very inviting, and the Sunday morning breakfast was delicious. I read in some of the reviews that the hotel charged for eggs and waffles; but that was not the case for us. There were not only waffles and hard-boiled eggs...but they also had biscuits and gravy, fruit, doughnuts, cereals, etc. And the large breakfast room overlooking the pool area was a beautiful place to begin our Easter Sunday celebrations.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teacherkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed for a weekend during a wedding at the Best Western Gateway Grand. Rooms were nice. King rooms are much nicer than double rooms. King rooms have separate couch and sitting area, and have flat screen televisions. Double rooms do not have flat screen televisions and separate sitting area. Beds and bedding should be replaced; they just aren't up to a level that one would expect in a hotel nowadays. Housekeeping was very poor. They weren't efficient at cleaning our room timely, and they did not do a very good job when they did clean. Wedding was exceptional. Service staff was very friendly and food was surprisingly tasty.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

If "stress" is any part of your trip, I would recommend this hotel. They have designed the hotel lobby to maximize the view. It's essentially just a rural view, but they built the hotel so that it looks out over the green area. I need to stay in this area to attend to family health needs, but haven't found a place I like in the Newberry Rd. area. Gateway Grand fills the bill. It's on a direct road from the airport, as well as I-75. There are fast food and other dining options close by, as well as a Publix and Walgreens.

The hotel is very clean, quiet and has free wi-fi. There is a business center for printing boarding passes. The staff is great; pleasant as well as helpful. Eggs are available for a small fee. I actually like the idea of paying if you want eggs. I'd rather have that option that nothing.

I still think their weak link is their restaurant. It seems to stay busy, but I probably won't eat there again. The food is nothing remarkable and the service this time was mediocre.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patio53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Stayed here on a long road trip from Texas to Florida for family needs.

This hotel is away from the main Gainesville exits (furthest north) but for traveling through, it is a great stop.
ROOMS--very spacious! Clean and beds were comfortable.
BREAKFAST--typical hotel bkfst fare. However-- they charged for eggs or waffles...can't quite figure that one out, since all other hotels I stay at , those items are included.
RESTAURANT--sports bar/rest. on site--prices kind of typical, a bit on the high side if you have kids. Other restaurants are on same exit, but on the other side of the interstate.
COST--good value for the room size
PARKING--THIS was kinda crazy. Due to the sports bar (I'm assuming) the parking lot is packed and we had to park far away from the hotel entrance and out by the road (we arrived about 7:00 p.m. This was not so convenient for two women traveling with children. I noticed this remark on another review and thought it would be a one time deal....evidently not.

STAFF--ok. I was at 7 different hotels on this trip and I wouldn't say the staff here was OVERly friendly, just adequate. Did alot of talking among themselves while we waited in line to check in.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txtraveler077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Fanstastic hotel. Clean. Quiet. Very luxurious. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I haven't been to this hotel in many years but I had great memories so I thought I would give it a try again. Great location. Next door to the Harley Davidson dealership. Front desk staff was great. Parking lot was packed. Conference going on. They upgraded my room at no charge. Lobby area is showing some wear and tear but rooms were nice and clean. Bed was very comfortable. TV's need to be upgraded. There is a sports bar connected to the hotel. Place was packed. Drove down the road to the next exit and got dinner. Will probably return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DukeofTally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#7 of 46 in Gainesville
449 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 46 in Gainesville
596 reviews
8.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
6.1 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $87 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing