We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camellia Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camellia Rose Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne beach, florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Home again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is our 4th visit to the Camellia Rose Inn and the title of my post says it all. It continues to be our most favorite inn. Pat and Tom do it right. The rooms are spotless, the beds incredibly comfortable and the hospitality amazing. No detail is overlooked. You are greeted with a hug like an old friend. And when you leave you cannot imagine not coming back to this place. The Camellia Rose is truly an exceptional place and Pat and Tom are amazing hosts. There is no place else in Gainesville we would rather stay.

Room Tip: You can go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenlaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
98
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pat and Tom, owners of this Bed & Breakfast are warm, wonderful and caring. They catered to our special needs. The breakfast was a delight, especially the pancakes with lemon sauce. Just amazing. The cottage was nice, as always and the bed was heavenly. We recommend this Inn to everyone who is looking for that special extra. Love you, Pat and Tom. We will be back.
Randi and Kay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi and Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Tom and Pat are wonderful proprietors and their home is clean and lovely. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast. Our bath had a very large jacuzzi tub with shower and pedestal sink. We spoke to Tom at length about the reconstruction of this wonderful old home and got an idea of how much sweat equity was poured into the Camellia Rose Inn. It is so convenient to downtown that we do not even take our car from the B & B district.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Pat and her husband were amazing. The rooms were meticulously clean. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Inn to my friends. It's only a 3 block walk to Starbucks and there's plenty of local restaurants to keep you busy. Thanks for a lovely stay!!

Jen

Room Tip: All of the rooms were wonderful, to be honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Illinois
Level Contributor
269 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our son attends the UF. In the past we have stayed at the chain hotels. While they have for the most part been fine, we had grown weary of the hall noise, banging doors and mass produced and crowded breakfasts. We decided to give the Camellia Rose Inn a shot in hopes of avoiding some of those pitfalls. We are not seasoned B&B users, but have been to a few and Camellia Rose definitely embodies what a great B&B should be. It is charming, Pat (the Inn Keeper) is delightful, the inn is immaculate and the breakfasts were tasty. We stayed in Anticipation and it was very nice. The room was a nice size as was the bathroom. One of our favorite parts of the inn was the wrap around porch. We sat out there in the late afternoon with a complimentary glass of wine as well as ate breakfast on occasion. Even though it is on the complete opposite side of Gainesville from where our son's condo is, we will definitely stay at the Camellia Rose in the future. If it had a work out facility, it would truly be perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms are all unique and nice. Take the time to look at them on-line or give Pat a call. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Wonderful place, Pat is so sweet and very helpful! The food was excellent and homemade. Loved the private balcony! The bedding was very luxurious and comfortable! The bathroom was spotless. I am very maticulous and will say if something is not good. I can't wait to try her cookbook!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psmccants, Owner at Camellia Rose Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your lovely compliments! It was a pleasure having you both, hope to see you again. Enjoy the cookbook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed on a dead Tuesday night. Pat was just great. Got me settled, gave me a dinner recommendation (all within walking distance) and the lowdown on the different neighborhoods in the area since I may be relocating. This house is really quite nice, clean, well-restored keeping the old charm with bathroom upgrades. I sayed on the lower level and it was super quiet. Plenty of parking, great grounds. I spent a very pleasant morning on the front porch with coffee meeting the outdoor cat who was very friendly and I suspect thinks he's a dog :-). Thanks Pat!

Room Tip: They all looked very nice (I peeked). I stayed on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krislier10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
0.7 mi away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#24 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Rose Inn

Property: Camellia Rose Inn
Address: 205 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camellia Rose Inn is a six room Inn with private baths. Rooms are large with large windows overlooking beautiful historic Gainesville. Huge porches and a second floor verandah are perfect for relaxing! For a bit more privacy there is also a private cottage. Less than 2 miles from the University of Florida and Shands Hospital and a short stroll to the historic downtown area. Full breakfast served, with homemade goodies and beverages available throughout the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing