We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful alternative to chain hotels”
Review of Camellia Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camellia Rose Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, Illinois
Level Contributor
310 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful alternative to chain hotels”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our son attends the UF. In the past we have stayed at the chain hotels. While they have for the most part been fine, we had grown weary of the hall noise, banging doors and mass produced and crowded breakfasts. We decided to give the Camellia Rose Inn a shot in hopes of avoiding some of those pitfalls. We are not seasoned B&B users, but have been to a few and Camellia Rose definitely embodies what a great B&B should be. It is charming, Pat (the Inn Keeper) is delightful, the inn is immaculate and the breakfasts were tasty. We stayed in Anticipation and it was very nice. The room was a nice size as was the bathroom. One of our favorite parts of the inn was the wrap around porch. We sat out there in the late afternoon with a complimentary glass of wine as well as ate breakfast on occasion. Even though it is on the complete opposite side of Gainesville from where our son's condo is, we will definitely stay at the Camellia Rose in the future. If it had a work out facility, it would truly be perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms are all unique and nice. Take the time to look at them on-line or give Pat a call. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
110
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Wonderful place, Pat is so sweet and very helpful! The food was excellent and homemade. Loved the private balcony! The bedding was very luxurious and comfortable! The bathroom was spotless. I am very maticulous and will say if something is not good. I can't wait to try her cookbook!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psmccants, Owner at Camellia Rose Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your lovely compliments! It was a pleasure having you both, hope to see you again. Enjoy the cookbook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed on a dead Tuesday night. Pat was just great. Got me settled, gave me a dinner recommendation (all within walking distance) and the lowdown on the different neighborhoods in the area since I may be relocating. This house is really quite nice, clean, well-restored keeping the old charm with bathroom upgrades. I sayed on the lower level and it was super quiet. Plenty of parking, great grounds. I spent a very pleasant morning on the front porch with coffee meeting the outdoor cat who was very friendly and I suspect thinks he's a dog :-). Thanks Pat!

Room Tip: They all looked very nice (I peeked). I stayed on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krislier10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had such a wonderful time during our first stay at the Camellia Rose. The "Anticipation" room was very accommodating for our first getaway and we hope to return one day! Sipping coffee on the oversized porch and a delicious breakfast prepared us for a day at the local springs. Thanks again Tom & Pat!
N & H

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The inn is located VERY close to downtown with all the great restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We were welcomed at the door and the place was nice and quiet and extremely clean, and the owners were super nice and welcoming. The breakfast was great! Don't even think about a hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We come Camelia Rose Inn several times a year and are never disappointed. The facility is lovely and the rooms are immaculate. We were met and welcomed at the door by Pat, and she helped us feel at home.. We enjoy the afternoon wine and cheese.and the delicious breakfast.
The B&B is in a historic part of Gainesville but is in walking distance, or short dirve, to many restaurants that we enjoy. If you are in Gainesville, we recommend staying at the Camellia Rose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Esther, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Pat was very friendly and hospitable, and made us feel right at home. The entire inn and our room were immaculate! The bed was extremely comfortable (nice sheets that Pat hand irons). We also loved the wrap-around porch and on the second floor, had a little deck off our room that was a nice touch. We also liked the snacks--brownies, wine, and cheese/crackers. All in all, it was a wonderful experience for our first B&B! Thanks, Pat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#5 of 44 in Gainesville
424 reviews
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
556 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Rose Inn

Property: Camellia Rose Inn
Address: 205 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camellia Rose Inn is a six room Inn with private baths. Rooms are large with large windows overlooking beautiful historic Gainesville. Huge porches and a second floor verandah are perfect for relaxing! For a bit more privacy there is also a private cottage. Less than 2 miles from the University of Florida and Shands Hospital and a short stroll to the historic downtown area. Full breakfast served, with homemade goodies and beverages available throughout the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing