We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky disappointment”
Review of Satchel's Pizza

Satchel's Pizza
Ranked #1 of 578 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $24
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Funky disappointment”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have read about Satchel's in different pizza trade magazines and was finally looking forward to going with the family. The atmosphere is funky and interesting and that was about as good as it got. From the time we met the rude hostess to the waiter who at first wouldn't leave us alone to finally never coming back to check on us. It wasn't that great of an experience. The food was average at best. While it's a large pizza, they promote that they cook them dark. Dark to us met crispy crust, in reality it meant limp crust. The spicy sausage seemed processed and not spicy at all. The light sauce we asked for was not light. The last item that I was upset about was the live music they promoted. What the website did not say was the music is out back in another area. You can not order your pizza out there. You have to order and then "carry out" the pizza to out back. Overall a disappointing visit. It's to bad, I had I hopes from the articles that were written about the place. But I will not be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    235
    82
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Gluten Free Pizza Ever”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have loved this very Funky place since my first visit. The salad is great and enough for two people if you are also having pizza. Their gluten free pizza is crunchy and yummy and the choice of toppings is endless. It is a place for the locals so expect to see families, University folks from students to Professors and people from the neighborhood. The food and the atmosphere more than offset any waiting time. Just remember, it is a pizza place and they are cash only.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smartinellicpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Make sure you have plenty of time”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Exceptionally nice people. Funky decor. Salad is good. Pizza is good (but not "best on the planet"). Home made root beer is good. Parking is pretty tight, but you can park in nearby lots if needed.

So why 3 stars? Simple. The pacing of the food was very bad. Salad took close to 20 min to serve. Pizza took just under 1 hour to serve. Have eaten all over the world - not just at hip pizza joints - and never waited 1 hour on anything I have ordered. Eating there killed my Saturday afternoon plans as I felt trapped waiting on my food.

Bring cash. They don't take credit cards.

Helpful?
Thank AmericanTraveler1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Gainesville, FL”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Love their pizza and unique style decoration. Eating there is a lot of fun. The only complaint is sometimes you have wait for almost half hour to get your pizza. But I still like it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonmao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“They need better sauce on the pizza”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

A crazy decor...excellent service! Their sauce for their pizza horrid. ..
They got the crust down!
Their house salad fabulous.
I'd only try a no sauce pizza next visit, like a white pizza the next time. Great assortment of Beer.

Helpful?
Thank Bklynli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satchel's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Satchel's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing