We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”
Review of Satchel's Pizza

Satchel's Pizza
Ranked #1 of 568 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was there twice. The first NY pizza I asked had the tomato sauce too spicy. The last time I was there I asked a pizza without sauce but with crushed tomatoes and cheese. Even though it was saturday and crowdy, they made my special NY pizza. In any case they are really very nice and the place is something special and comfortable. I will return there before leaving Gainesville.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_Antonino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    228
    77
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dresher, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Have only been to Gainesville two times and both times ate dinner at Satchel's. It's a quirky place with warm, friendly, attentive servers. The pizza is excellent as is the salad. Definitely save room for the homemade desserts.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathy2921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The best pizza in the most creative environment”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

You've never seen a place like this before! Every inch an naive art masterpiece. And the pizza...there is no other like it. Garlicky, buttery, tangy, chewy, crusty. Satchel is a Gainesville treasure. Expect a wait, but it can be fun. Visit the live music in the greenhouse in the back, and all the cool stuff at the Lightening Salvage store. Drink Coke from a bottle, check out the year's largest pinecones and enjoy the festive environs!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lduke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is not the place to go if you want ordinary pizza, fast dining or boring atmosphere.

I can't say that we've ventured out much beyond pizza and salad, but that's because it never disappoints. We vary our toppings but pizza, salad and water is pretty much the standard in our family.

Because we have kids, we try to get there early because you can wait an hour for your pizza - which it clearly states on the menu.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GatorCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique cash only place”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

From what I understand its very difficult to get into this place when school is in session. If you have time this is a restaurant you have to visit. The food is good, the service is outstanding and the atmosphere is electric. They even offer live music and interesting art work too! Have fun!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GatorGirl1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satchel's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Satchel's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing