We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Private party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mark's Prime Steakhouse

Mark's Prime Steakhouse
Ranked #45 of 551 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 1st ST
Description: Marks Prime Steakhouse has a goal to create a unique dining experience that will please the palate and soothe the soul. We serve the finest beef, freshest seafood, premium wines and naturally fresh vegetables. We hope to see you soon.
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Private party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Reserved the piano room for a private party. Great room. The food was delivered fresh and timely. Had 2 servers that handled the bar and kept the room clean and neat. They were efficient but also invisible. It was a great night.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimpamjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    35
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Incredible Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I know my steak…and the Delmonico at Mark’s was one of the best I ever had. Service was excellent, the appetizers were delicious, and drinks from the bar were made to perfection… I have nothing but great things to say about this restaurant. Next time I am in Gainesville, I will make sure to return to Mark’s.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kenscoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Definitely a 5-star experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I love a good steak, and Mark's is definitely a winner! We were there with a large group and the service was excellent. Entrees and sides are ordered separately. With dessert, expect to pay $50-75 per person not including alcohol.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“FIne steak quality and atmosphere, desserts are not the best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is my second trip to Mark's Prime Steakhouse in Gainesville, FL. The food quality is great and very comparable to Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. I really enjoy the melted butter on top of the steak. The iceberg lettuce wedge was kind of dissapointing in presentation because they just chopped a half of iceberg lettuce head and drizzled blue cheese and bacon on top. I asked the waiter not to put tomatoes on my salad and it arrived with tomatoes on top. The desserts were not that exciting but i was impresed with the qualty of steak that they present. I had the 11 oz filet mignon but i'm aware that there is a bone-in 16 oz filet that i might have to try on the next trip. Overall good steak quality but missing a 5* touch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tluehr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Prime says it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a lovely meal here from start to finish. Excellent steak of course, but the salad, vegetables and desert were also quite nice. Easy access in downtown.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark's Prime Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mark's Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing