We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Focus of downtown”

The Hippodrome State Theatre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hippodrome State Theatre is the architectural centerpiece of Gainesville's Historic downtown and is listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. The main stage theatre features the work of award-winning thespians and presents some of the best theatre in the country. The Hippodrome also houses a visual arts gallery, a cinema featuring first run artistic and foreign films, and a full service bar.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Focus of downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

At the end of SE 1st Street is an amazing piece of architecture: the once Federal Building, now the Hippodrome State Theater. On a summer evening, it focuses the eye as you wander next to the sidewalk tables fronting restaurants. The current play is "Other Desert Cities," a dramatic study of a family in crisis. The parts are well-cast; those playing retired movie actors, act and especially look as if they were, the brother-sister dynamic of childhood carries into them as adult: she, the stressed over-achieving author, he, the mellow producer of low-brow television. The set reflects "casual" Palm Springs wealth and the well-tailored costumes add to the atmosphere.
It's a gritty play, but one to be admired and enjoyed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    26
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Experience Broadway in Gainesville, Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

There is nothing like professional theater, but I am unable to afford the travel plus ticket prices I would need to pay to see it in a place like New York. No problem for me, since as a Florida resident, the HIppodrome Theater is located in Gainesville, FL. Although Gainesville is nationally known for its football program, the Hippodrome has been gifting this college town with Broadway-style professional productions for 40 years. My husband and I just attended the opening night and the 40th Anniversary of this amazing place, which is housed in an historic building in downtown Gainesville. Everything is first class, from the outstanding actors, set design and costumes to the friendly ambience which offers changing art exhibits in its lobby and allows beverage consumption during the productions. Play selections in this Equity theater include side-splitting comedies, colorful musicals, riveting dramas and always seasonal favorites during Halloween and the holidays. There are no bad seats in the house, as the actors make sure to play to every section of the audience. Happy Anniversary to an amazing institution!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank atlanticbeachwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I've been attending productions here for almost 30 years and I've never seen one that I thought was poorly done. Of course there have been some stories that haven't been my taste, but I have always walked away impressed with the quality of the acting and the overall production. This theatre is not your traditional auditorium. It is "U" shaped, comfortable and very intimate. While the seats in the middle sections are usually the best, I have been happy with all the seats in the theatre (and I have sat in the majority of them).

The Hippodrome also has a small movie theater where they play foreign and independent films. This is not a comfortable, modern movie theater and I've only seen one movie there so I cannot comment on the quality of the movies.

The lobby has a small bar and an area where local art is displayed. It is nice to have a drink and view the art while you are waiting before the play.

I highly recommend seeing a production on the mainstage!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank catlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have enjoyed every show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Whether a play or movie. We have enjoyed every show. And feel it is a very good value. There was an art exhibit with art created by one of the performers. We bought a piece and it is on display in our home.

Helpful?
Thank azalea5560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We had a ton of fun great play loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to get away. The staff was awesome and very helpful! You see a play here it's a 10!

Helpful?
2 Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hippodrome State Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Hippodrome State Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing