We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food and perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonefish Grill Gainsville

Bonefish Grill Gainsville
Ranked #12 of 545 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Great food and perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Let me say the food was excellent and our waitress. If you come to this place you must try the jumbo sea scallops snd shrimp. Highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KikiCenteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    75
    24
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Outstanding in Every Respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Wonderful ambiance, a varied menu and excellent service make it hard to believe that this restuarant is part of a national chain. Ample free parking as it is located in Butler Plaza. I especially enjoyed the dark woods and earth tones of the interior which had an upscale feel. Although busy it had a subdued atmosphere.

I dined there during the 4 to 6:30 pm happy hour with the pleasing specials on appetizers and drinks. If you come later especially on the weekend I would strongly suggest reservations.

The "house wines" are a bargain and entrees can be split for two if you have moderate appetites.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doctorpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is always great. Our waiter was top notch and the food was great as always. The only complaint I would have is the size often fish for the price. We will be back.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank President3852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“They never miss a beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've been to this Bonefish Grill more than 10 times in the past year and are always pleased with the food and the service. Last Saturday night, the place was completely packed and the wait for a table was more than an hour. Thank heavens we had called ahead an reserved a booth for the four of us. A reservation doesn't guarantee that your table will be ready at the moment that you arrive. Instead, the promise to seat you within 15 minutes, which isn't too bad since the large bar and outdoor lounge area are pleasant places to hang out and enjoy a drink.
This operation shines in many small but noteworthy ways: Often, a member of the serving team will walk through the crowd of people waiting for their beepers to signal their table is ready and offers complimentary tastings of their signature BangBang shrimp appetizer. Such a really nice touch and a great marketing move as well. I ordered the cerviche and the seabass as my main course. The seabass was wonderful, as usual, but the cerviche was disappointing. I left most of it untouched because, in my humble opinion, the shrimp in the dish tasted a little gritty. When the server began to clear the table, she noticed the amount of the appetizer uneaten and asked if anything was wrong. I politely told her that I didn't care for it because of the grittiness I experienced with the shrimp. She had been gone only two or three minutes when the manager came over and thanked me for the feedback, assuring me that he would convey my concerns to the kitchen. Nice touch. Even nicer, when our check came, the cerviche was nowhere on the bill. I added 50% of the price of the cerviche to the tip that left.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent as usuall...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

In Gainesville for business so dined at Bonefish Grill again at this location for the 3rd time. It was excellent as usual.

I stated with the Bang Bang Shrimp and a glass of sangria. Both were very good. I had the Chilean Sea Bass with the au gratin potatoes for dinner. The Sea Bass was EXCELLENT. It was grilled just right – firm and done but not over-cooked. It was so flaky and the accompanying Asian sauce on the side helped to make it so tasty. The potatoes and bread were good also.

Always a very good meal is had a Bonefish Grille with efficient service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhino2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill Gainsville also viewed

 

Been to Bonefish Grill Gainsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing