We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms dirty and banged up, bedding and pillows very old and yellow, overall not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

CONS: First thing you notice when you walk in the Room is all the scratches and marks on the wall. From there it only gets worse.... the bedding had hairs still in it like they were never changed. The pillows were very flat and had a old yellow color to them. (For those of you who dont know, when a pillow is Flat and has a yellow tent to it that is the sign of bacteria within the pillows. The flat softness the pillow has is all thanks to bacteria that lives in these old pillows). Back to the other issues. The elevator could be heard all throughout the hotel and never stopped running. The sofa bed was very old and looked like it had been through hell. Finally there were Hairs that lined the bathroom walls and floor. Never stay in room 216....
PROS: the breakfast was very good and the front desk was helpful.


Overall if you are thinking about staying here.... don't its not worth the money or disgusting thoughts.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lance2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesvilleGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

First let me apologize that your recent visit to the Springhill Suites Gainesville fell short of your expectations.Please be assured that yours was certainly not a typical experience at this property and that we take your comments very seriously and that our goal is for all of our guests to be completely satisfied with their stay.. I have shared your comments with our team to investigate your concerns and if you would contact me directly we will certainly make this right for you and hope that when your travels bring you to Gainesville again that you give us another opportunity to show you the true Springhill Suites experience.

Best regards,

Steven Bradshaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Gainesville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 596 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

I'm impressed with SpringHill Suites in Gainesville! After traveling for 18 hours we were ready for a nice place to stay. We booked a double bed suite and it was a great size for 4 people. As you walked into the room there was a little kitchenette area directly in front of the door with a mini fridge, microwave, bar sink, and cabinet space. To the left as your entered the room was a sofa and chair and a desk area. The bedroom space was towards the back of the room with a HUGE closet. The bathroom setup was perfect for us. The bathroom sink was open to the room so we could use it conveniently. The shower and toilet were in a separate space. Everything was very clean and well-maintained. The décor was current and the beds were comfy. The air conditioner worked well too! We took advantage of the breakfast in the lobby. There was a nice selection of scrambled eggs & ham, oatmeal, waffles, cereals, bagels, muffins, bread, yogurt, and fruit. There was also fruit juices and milk for the kids and of course coffee too. I'm pretty picky when choosing accommodations we were lucky to find this. We got one of the last three rooms when we checked in, so obviously it is a great place to stay! If we are in the Gainesville, FL area again I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank outbackbound2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesvilleGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at the Springhill Suites Gainesville. I am happy to hear that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed the spacious suite and great new breakfast offerings. I would love the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Gainesville and feel free to contact me directly to handle your reservation needs and ensure that you have a room waiting for you when needed. Thanks again!

Best regards,

Steven Bradshaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

After driving 15 hours we stopped here for some r&r. Everything in lake City & Gainesville was booked. We got the last room here. Hotel is nice and clean. We got a suite that was huge but nothing fancy. It had a king with a sofa bed, large dining room table, powder room, separate sink & countertop with fridge. Shower pressure good, sheets clean, tub size good, even slanted back so you can lay down easily. Didn't try breakfast bc we would rather sleep. Bed was comfortable & clean.

Cons: room walls thin, housekeeping knocked on our door at 9:20 to see when we were leaving. So mad we just got in at one a.m. And to be woke up really ticked us off. ESP when check out was 12. Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashlogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesvilleGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at the Springhill Suites Gainesville. I am glad that you were able to get a room and get some well needed rest in your suite after your long day of traveling! I'm sorry that you were awakened by a member of our housekeeping team and did not get to enjoy our breakfast buffet but certainly understand the need to sleep in. We hope that you will choose us again when your travels bring you to Gainesville. Thanks again for choosing Springill Suites!

Best regards,

Steven Bradshaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very friendly greetings from staff when we arrived, and all during our stay. Our requests were promptly attended to with genuine smiles. Room was clean, bright and comfortable, breakfast was good, with lots of variety. Hotel is just off I-75 and close to Univ.. of Florida campus with lots of dining choices nearby. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side overlook the pool area and are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesvilleGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Springhill Suites Gainesville! I am glad to hear that you experienced the genuine hospitality spirit from our team and enjoyed the accommodations and breakfast offerings. When your travels bring you to Gainesville again we look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks again for choosing Springhill Suites!

Best regards,

Steven Bradshaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with our three kids on the way to South Florida for winter break. We had a great stay. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We all had a great breakfast. The staff was very friendly, especially Shirley in the breakfast area. She greeted us and asked us what we needed and made us feel very welcome. My daughter has already asked if we could stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank ATLfamily2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesvilleGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at the Springhill Suites Gainesville! I am glad to hear that our team was able to provide a warm welcome a place for you and your family to rest and recharge on your travels to South Florida. I have passed on your comments to Shirley and she wanted to make sure to say thank you to your Daughter and that she hopes to see you all again soon. Thanks for choosing Springhill Suites!

Best regards,

Steven Bradshaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Right off Rte 75 at Archer Road exit. Plenty of eateries within 2-5 minutes. Clean and comfortable. Great service with a smile from Jaci at front desk. Although a Franchised Marriott location, all Marriott customer service standards in place.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Serviceprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesvilleGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Springhill Suites Gainesville! I am glad to hear that you received a warm welcome from Jaci and enjoyed your accommodations. You are certainly right when you mentioned that we are just a short distance from a wide variety of restaurants and more opening all the time. Thanks for choosing Springhill Suites!

Best regards,

Steven Bradshaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I am Marriott Gold member so partial to marriott properties. Hotel was nicely appointed. We thought rooms were small for a "suite hotel". I travel a lot and they did not seem much bigger than full size hotel room. biggest issue was noise thru the walls. This was big disappointment at 1 am and we had to knock on wall to get noise down. I don't think the noise was that loud, but there is little privacy between walls there. on sat am. it was a mad dash to the game, it would seem to me they should have been a little better prepared fpr breakfast crowd and not run low on food....GB

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 46 in Gainesville
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#9 of 46 in Gainesville
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Gainesville

Address: 4155 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#13 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $119 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 126 All-Suite hotel has immediate access to I-75, local shopping and restaurants and we are a 7 minute ride to The University of Florida, UF/Shands hospitals and the VA hospital. We provide a free hot buffet breakfast, complimentary shuttle, free Wi-Fi and parking. We provide a Market for snacks, beverages and sundries. We are a University of Florida preferred hotel and a Certificate of Excellence award winner through Trip Advisor for 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing