We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Football weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Football weekend stay”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I am Marriott Gold member so partial to marriott properties. Hotel was nicely appointed. We thought rooms were small for a "suite hotel". I travel a lot and they did not seem much bigger than full size hotel room. biggest issue was noise thru the walls. This was big disappointment at 1 am and we had to knock on wall to get noise down. I don't think the noise was that loud, but there is little privacy between walls there. on sat am. it was a mad dash to the game, it would seem to me they should have been a little better prepared fpr breakfast crowd and not run low on food....GB

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    147
    55
    25
    11
See reviews for
233
84
26
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Hotel was quiet, clean and away from main traffic way. Only one block off Archer and one block off I-75 on a side road by the dead end and no traffic noise buy so close to EVERYTHING. The suite (Rm#123) was great. Lots of room, sitting area, king bed, fridge, micro, coffee machine, two large LG TV'S. Had no attached room but next to ice machine and hotel side door. It was not noisy except for a little in the morning but total quiet all night long. Stayed 5 days and staff, maid service couldn't be nicer. We will definitely stay here again on our return to Gainesville. Breakfast is what you expect from hotel food but there was plenty of it with 24 hr coffee & tea available. This is the ONLY pet friendly hotel we stayed at that was truly exceptionally clean. Must mention that Tiffany took our reservation and checked us in a week later. She got us the best room with the best rate possible and really went out of her way to make our stay great. Shirley was the social butterfly of the breakfast room with a smile, laugh and lots of conversation for everyone. Ms Jean checked often to make sure things were right and was sincerely interested in providing the best stay a visitor can have. Fantastic staff and Marriott should be proud of the hotel. Ron, JoAnn & Shadow

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Level Contributor
134 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

As a repeat visitor to this particular property, I always know what I am going to get and that helps make business travel a bit less stressful. I can count on a clean room, reliable service and a decent, hot breakfast. For a one-night stay that is about all I can really ask for.

The hotel is by no means luxurious, but that is not what SpringHill is all about. While I would very much like to see a full service Marriott in Gainesville, that is currently not an option and amongst the other Marriott options I see myself continuing to choose the SpringHill.

At check-in, my Platinum status was acknowledge and I was upgraded to a one-bedroom suite. Even though this is not the fanciest or most elegant suite, I appreciate the consideration and recognition of my status. I can definitely see the suite being useful for a large family traveling together.

I came across a few minor issues, but nothing that can't be corrected. The furniture in the common areas was clearly worn and could use some reupholstering or replacement. Same goes with some of the wood furniture in the rooms, there were chips, cracks and just a general worn and tired feeling. There was also an issue with my corporate credit card at check-in that took an extra trip to the front desk to resolve. Additionally, I heard the manager questioning the front desk clerk about the issue in a way that made me feel a little uncomfortable as if I posed a risk not to pay the bill. The gist of it was that I had checked out of a SpringHill suites 2 days prior and they did not run my card until the day I checked-in at this particular SpringHill. Because the issuing bank saw a charge at two SpringHills in separate cities on the same day they required me to call and explain. I would have been happy to discuss this with the manager directly instead of it being doing via a hushed conversation with the clerk. As a Platinum rewards member, any hotel manager should know that I pose no risk of not covering expenses.

So my three-star rating isn't because there is anything terribly wrong here, it's just that for me the best a no-frills hotel can receive would be 4-stars and there were a few minor issues here preventing that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FightOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The best part was the breakfasts. The ladies their are really friendly and aim to do a good job. The worst part was the elevators were super slow and the room doors make a lot of noise when they close. The hotel is already showing wear.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daphgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Great place. The hostess at breakfast, Shirley, was especially sweet and helpful. Breakfast was great. Out room was clean, quiet, and spacious for our family of 5. We will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatormomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have stayed here a few times when visiting Gainesville for business. The location is perfect for my needs and the hotel has never disappointed in any respect. The rooms are always clean and well-furnished with sufficient amenities. The staff have always met my expectations. The gym facilities are more than adequate, and the breakfast is great. Some rooms have some road noise, but it's not terrible and it's the expected tradeoff for the convenience of being right next to the interstate. All in all, a very good choice for a stay in this area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anlu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I met my two sisters here for a girls weekend. Everyone that works there is very friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed Shirley that helped with breakfast on Sat and Sun. She came up to us and introduced herself to us and welcomed us personally each morning. She advised if we needed anything to just let her know. She was very friendly and has a great presence in the kitchen and dining area. I really enjoyed her.

Room Tip: Our only problem was that there was some kind of dance competition that weekend somewhere locally an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#7 of 44 in Gainesville
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Gainesville

Property: SpringHill Suites Gainesville
Address: 4155 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#13 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 126 All-Suite hotel has immediate access to I-75, local shopping and restaurants and we are a 7 minute ride to The University of Florida, UF/Shands hospitals and the VA hospital. We provide a free hot buffet breakfast, complimentary shuttle, free Wi-Fi and parking. We provide a Market for snacks, beverages and sundries. We are a University of Florida preferred hotel and a Certificate of Excellence award winner through Trip Advisor for 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing