We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Gainesville Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Gainesville Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

As others have indicated, this Springhill Suites is ready for an update but that being said, this is a very good hotel. It is clean, the rooms are spacious and the staff are very accomodating. We just stayed there during a Gainesville event and were very pleased with the accomodations, the breakfast and all staff members we encountered. We are hoping to be able to stay there next year whe we go back for the event in 2014. I look forward to seeing the rooms after they update them.

This was a posiive experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LA_Apopka_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesvilleGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Springhill Suites Gainesville. We are thrilled that you were able to experience the hospitality of our great team here at the hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Gainesville next year.

Warm regards,

Steven Bradshaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    116
    42
    24
    11
See reviews for
165
55
21
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Random City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stays at this Marriott overall have been fine. Really just need a place to sleep as my engagements in Gainesville keep me away for the day. The only issue that I have had is with Corey. On the few occasions that I’ve had the pleasure of interacting with him, his service and attitude have been less than ideal, and not what I would expect from a Marriott employee. I have to question why he works in hospitality when he is less than hospitable with his service.

Outside of these interactions, the property has otherwise been great. The outside of the hotel is starting to age, but the inside is kept up rather well. Lobby and rooms are clean and accommodating. Noise can be heard between rooms or from the halls on occasion. Staff, besides the aforementioned person, has been pleasant and friendly. The hotel also provides a shuttle service to and from campus, which is a nice feature.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Even though this SpringHill Suites site may be older than some, it is well maintained. Our room was spacious and comfortable. It was very clean with the exception of the carpet which needs to be shampooed as evidenced by the bottom of our socks. The bed was comfortable but the pillows weren't as comfortable as we've experienced in other Marriott properties. Breakfast was good. I go for the healthy stuff so I appreciated the granola, fruit, and light yogurt. Also, I'm a coffeeholic and enjoyed the coffee and flavored creamer. Wifi is free and efficient. The location of the motel is very convenient. We had requested a quiet room in advance and were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. When we return to Gainesville, we will definitely stay at SpringHill Suites.

Room Tip: Always request a quiet room in advance...away from ice machines and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

First the pluses.....
1. Rooms are good size and clean,
2. Lobby was spotless.
3. Breakfast was above average.
4. Location is good for quick access to I75 and restaurants.

Now the downside...
1. The hotel is starting to show it's age. I'm guessing it's about 10 years old now and is due for a re-fresh.
2. The bathroom was very small.
3. I found the mattress to below par for a Marriott branded hotel. Could feel and hear the springs when gettin into bed.
4. Springhill is one of my favorite brands for travel and this one doesn't live up to the lofty standards they generally set. Maybe it's just that it is starting to look a little tired but I also found the staff were not as friendly, fast, or helpful as other Springhill's I have visited.

Overall, This is a pretty good hotel for a business traveler or someone looking for a decent night's sleep at a decent cost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintAugTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Room was nice, large, clean, quiet and comfortable. Beds were good and the A/C system worked well. Only gripes were no business channel on the TV, and powdered eggs at breakfast. Otherwise, the hotel was a good basic value and a safe choice, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

First I want to say that the service was friendly and tried to be helpful...no problems there. The property, however, is dated badly. Looks like perhaps it was an even older hotel retro-fitted into a Springhill. Pull out bed for kids was worst I have ever encountered. There were no linens for it in the room and they brought up a set that smelled and felt like it had been in storage, unlaundered for months (or more). Breakfast not available until 7:30, which is too late for many. Had no meat at all at the breakfast -- sausage gravy is fine but it can't replace a stand-alone meat. We had room next to VERY noisy ice machine (a little noise usually doesn't bother me but this was a real clunker). Knob/lock on bathroom did not work. Room was clean. DO yourself a favor and stay at one of the other places located on this street...save 20-30 bucks and buy yourself a real breakfast at a restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nolalollygagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at this property during a family wedding to the area. The facilities and expecially the rooms were clean and comfortable. My kids especially enjoyed the breakfast. Jackie at the front desk was very helpful when we discovered that we had left behind a very important bag. Upon our trip home I made a phone call to the hotel and Jackie helped track down our "left behind" bag. She even made a phone call to let me know when our family member had retrieved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMason3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Gainesville I-75
Residence Inn Gainesville I-75
#13 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Gainesville

Property: SpringHill Suites Gainesville
Address: 4155 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#13 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 126 All-Suite hotel has immediate access to I-75, local shopping and restaurants and we are a 7 minute ride to The University of Florida, UF/Shands hospitals and the VA hospital. We provide a free hot buffet breakfast, complimentary shuttle, free Wi-Fi and parking. We provide a Market for snacks, beverages and sundries. We are a University of Florida preferred hotel and a Certificate of Excellence award winner through Trip Advisor for 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing