We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Huye, Rwanda
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good facade”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The manager might want to think about changing the hours of the pool, if possible. There were guests out at the pool until 11pm, which isn't a problem if they were just swimming. They were playing very loud music, which they did turn off after I called the front desk. But then they were talking and yelling just as loud as their music. Thus, I would not recommend staying in a room anywhere near the pool. We did not sleep very well. Breakfast was alright, but there was no juice due to the machine leaking. Maybe next time is happens, pitchers of water could be put out instead. We usually stay at Marriott's, but this is not one we will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Do not get a room by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesville, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all of our reviews very seriously so that we can better serve our guests. I apologize for the difficulties you faced during your stay. Please contact us if we can be any assistance to you in the future, to help make your next stay better.
Sincerely,
Eric Bovee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    147
    55
    25
    11
See reviews for
233
84
26
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Room was updated and basically clean although there was a strange hair on the bed. Front desk staff was not very friendly. Free breakfast buffet was not good - eggs tasted fake (inedible). Belgian waffles might have been nice but a family's multiple kids decided to make 4 each which exceeded the breakfast time so we had to pass. Danish & muffins at these places always taste stale. Yogurt was a decent option since it was packaged. We skipped it and went to Panera for breakfast the next day. Starbucks was close by too. This is a noisy place - especially if your room faces the pool. Kids and even a parent screaching morning and night. Kids running up and down hallways. One mistook our room for his at 730am, banging on our door to let him in. No insulation between walls - you can hear everything, water, conversations, TV's, etc. Workout room needs new cardio machines. This might be a good place for quick one night stop while you're on the road but I think there may be better places. This place is surrounded by a Super 8 and Motel 6 - it's OK for a highway stopover but nothing more.

Room Tip: No views here but it may be quieter if you're not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesville, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all of our reviews very seriously so that we can better serve our guests. I apologize for the difficulties you faced during your stay. Please contact us if we can be any assistance to you in the future, to help make your next stay better.
Sincerely,
Eric Bovee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of a church group, the rooms exceeded my expectations, it was very clean and roomy. The staff was super nice and helped made our stay one to remember, if you are in the gainsville area I highly recommend this hotel above. Any thing else.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesville, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all of our reviews very seriously so that we can better serve our guests. I am happy that you had a great stay with us. Please contact us if we can be any assistance to you in the future, to help make your next stay even better.
Sincerely,
Eric Bovee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonito, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

When we made our reservations we thought we were getting a King Suite, with a separate living area. Even when we checked in, nothing was said. When we got in the room it was one large ADA room, with only a "roll in" shower. When I called the front desk to ask him about why we were put in this room, he said it was the only one left (even though we made our reservations early). While, normally this would not bother me, we had been on the road, we were looking forward to relaxing in a nice suite, taking a long hot bath, and getting a good nights sleep. The front desk clerk did not make any apology for not mentioning this before we checked in. It would have been nice if he would have made an effort to at least let us know ahead of time, with a genuine concern. The bed was so-so, and I felt as if I was showering in a girls locker room. I'm sure this hotel would be fine in another situation but we, unfortunately, had a bad experience due to a "lack of caring" front desk personnel. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grannydee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesville, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all of our reviews very seriously so that we can better serve our guests. I also would like to apologize for the lack of caring by my front desk staff. Please contact me so that I can be of any assistance to you in the future, to help make your next stay better.
Sincerely,
Eric Bovee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The room was clean, but was in need of some updating, mainly the furniture. The two small tables that were used as the coffee table were very scuffed up. The desk was also quite scuffed up around the edges. The room was average sized, I have stayed in suites that were a lot larger. There is a small living room area, a small area that has the mini fridge and microwave, with a small sink. There is some storage space where you could store some snacks etc. The counter tops there and the bathroom sink were granite looking. The bathroom itself was a nice size, however the door was coming apart and part of it was being held in place with tape. We had a king size bed, it seemed smaller than a normal king bed.
The breakfast was ok , egg substitute, with sausage and pancakes, bread, english muffins, some bagels. There was fresh coffee with everything you needed to put in it. There was a basket sitting off on a side table where you sit to eat that had some oranges in there. There was also some juice to choose from, but when my husband went to get the orange juice only water came out. There was a lady who was taking care of the area, however she would cut in front of you while you were trying to get to the food. there was a toasting machine, very old looking and when you put you muffins or toast in it, they ran thru the machine and came out the other end looking untouched ??!! they need to get a regular toaster ! The front desk staff members were friendly. They do allow pets , which is a good and bad thing, we were kept up most of the night by a barking dog in the next room, did call to the front desk but apparently there is nothing they can do, did complain again when I checked out, I was told that the dog was in a pet assigned room, well good for the dog, but not good for us. They did apologize for my lack of sleep, did say they would compensate me with some reward points, but we shall see, maybe a partial refund would have been nicer for them to offer ? Overall was ok, but not my favorite Marriott stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesville, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all of our reviews very seriously so that we can better serve our guests. I also would like to apologize for the lack of sleep, because of a dog. Please let us know if we can be any assistance to you in the future, to help make your next stay better.
Sincerely,
Eric Bovee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Hotel is right off I-75 on Archer Rd -- about 5 mins from campus. Hotel is very reasonable relative to other options. Rooms are clean -- however there are a few maintenance things that need to be taken care of. The A/C unit gave off a damp\musty smell when the fan was on -- not horrible, but not great either. That said, this is a good amount of space in your room and the staff was friendly and prompt to address any issues. There was a sports tournament in town with loud teenagers and the management swiftly addressed noise issues -- we had a quite night's sleep. Did not try free breakfast, went to starbucks instead. All and all - a good value for a basic night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesville, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all of our reviews very seriously so that we can better serve our guests. Please let us know if we can be any assistance to you in the future.
Sincerely,
Eric Bovee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stay at Marriott's. Over 800 nights so far. We were attending the Senior awards at UF VC. This one was an a free e-certificate.

Hotel is clean and well maintained.

Rooms are OK. I hate the Springhill's concept of where they put the TV. It is half in the living and and half in the bedroom. Unsatisfactory. The bed quality in Springhill's (like Fairfield Inn's) are poor -- too soft for my taste. Everything in the room worked and plenty of lights, free WiFi with no fiddling with passwords.

Did not try the breakfast. Ate at the Waffle House (we left early).

Hotel staff professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Top floor is always best less noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radarman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGainesville, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We take all of our guest reviews and comment seriously so that we can better serve our guest. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future to make your stay better on your next visit to Gainesville.
Sincerely,
Eric Bovee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#5 of 44 in Gainesville
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Gainesville

Property: SpringHill Suites Gainesville
Address: 4155 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#13 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 126 All-Suite hotel has immediate access to I-75, local shopping and restaurants and we are a 7 minute ride to The University of Florida, UF/Shands hospitals and the VA hospital. We provide a free hot buffet breakfast, complimentary shuttle, free Wi-Fi and parking. We provide a Market for snacks, beverages and sundries. We are a University of Florida preferred hotel and a Certificate of Excellence award winner through Trip Advisor for 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing