We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sushi”
Review of Liquid Ginger

Liquid Ginger
Ranked #131 of 568 Restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Asian, Sushi, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is a popular restaurant, and you may have to wait for a table, but it's worth it. The sushi is outstanding, and they have a large selection of tea. They bring it inpots that stay warm over burners.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jothomas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    50
    21
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great service , food poor”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Ate at Liquid Ginger this past weekend while visiting my daughter at UF. I had high hopes based on the atmosphere and lovely server who was very attentive to us throughout the entire meal . My younger daughter had salmon sashimi which literally came to her frozen . It thawed out at the table but then was watery . We told our server who was very apologetic and brought us an order of complimentary edemame which was cold . She also brought us some other thinly sliced sashimi complimentary which was good . I had a salmon roll which had no flavor and my other daughter had a stir fry chicken dish which also was very tasteless .
Our server as I mentioned was fabulous but could not make up for the food . We will not return

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were not heading for Liquid Ginger, but our first choice was packed. However, we were not disappointed with second choice! The restaurant now sports a new sushi bar so we decided that we would have sushi. Both rolls were excellent-well prepared, generous, and fresh tasting. Our server suggested that we try the uni - sea urchin - because it had come in fresh that morning. It was a taste experience - very buttery mouth feel and no 'fishy' taste - served in a carved cucumber cup - delightful! Of course we did order a small plate of the eggplant - always a favorite. On other occasions we have ordered the bento box at a small up-charge. You never know what side dishes you will get to taste, but they are always yummy. A big thanks to our server for making a night out special.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SearlesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
267 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had been travelling for a week, and wanted something a little different than the normal american food. Liquid Ginger has a great place to go and eat. loved the food and teas. Would definately go back again if we were in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BarlowO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Should Have Been Better”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The miso soup was hot the tea and Saki were hot but it fell off after that. The chicken satay was lukewarm and the potstickers were cold and the sauces came right out of the reefer. It was obvious that care had been taken in the preparation of the food but not in the presentation. Sadly the food did not measure up to the service which was excellent. Our server answered questions about the menu and was very pleasant. I will most likely take another shot at this place and chalk this experience up to the Chef being out sick and the dishwasher running the kitchen.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterswc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liquid Ginger also viewed

 

Been to Liquid Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing