We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walls and Ceilings are paper thin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Gainesville
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Walls and Ceilings are paper thin”
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I'm a Hilton's Honor Gold member and book Hilton hotels everywhere I go (business or leisure). I usually prefer the Homewood brand as it's like a home away from home.
On this occasion, I booked 3 rooms for family members for a wedding. The night before, I requested an early check-in (1pm) for at least one room so we can put our bags in relax, etc. before the wedding shower. They said it's not guaranteed but will do their best.

Well, of course when we arrived at 1pm, they could not accommodate my request. We waited in the lobby for an hour before we could get 1 room...2 hours for the next and finally at 3:45, got the 3rd room. I was very disappointed.

I learned that rooms were available (1 Bedroom Suites) but they could not help me out because we paid for Studio Suites. What's my Gold status for? I have been a very loyal member to Hilton for many years and they could not help me out on this occasion?

Enough of my venting...now the facts:
- This hotel was clean and well-maintained.
- The front desk staff was not rude but not overly-friendly.
- The walls are very thin (You can hear people walking down the hall. You can hear doors slam as they're being shut. They need to be spring-loaded or something. Constant SLAM after SLAM after SLAM.)
- Ceilings are paper thin. (Heard every step from the room above, unless obviously, you are on the top floor.)
- The breakfast was limited to a few items. (* They did have waffles though, a plus!)
- Breakfast staff was very friendly.

I will not be returning to this hotel on any future visits to Gainesville, due the fact of the noise level in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dillonguy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    149
    63
    35
    25
See reviews for
266
72
26
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
palm bay, fl
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed at this hotel because we were in town for my daughter to have surgery at Shands (UF Hospital).

The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly. The location is great - next to everything. You won't be bored many stores and restaurants.

The hotel does offer breakfast in the morning and light dinner at night included in the price of room. Great Deal!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cveil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

From top to bottom, we couldn't have chosen a better hotel to stay for a long basketball weekend in Gainesville. Close to everything (including the campus, a 5-mile drive), this hotel is a can't miss. Pricing was very commendable and I considered this an excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PackAttack4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Homewoods are our favorite chain and this was our 2nd stay in one on a cross-country road trip. We're a family of 4 on a military move from Alaska to Florida. Our military rate for a studio suite was $99 before taxes, $108 after. The studio suite is more a room with a kitchen and pullout couch vice a multi-room suite. The hotel is very convenient to the Interstate if you're just passing through and is pretty close (not walking distance) to the UF campus. There are stores and restaurants all around the hotel.

Homewood is a great brand and is nearly always dependable. This hotel currently rates #3 in Gainesville but is a 3-star while #s 1 & 2 are lower tier hotels. I have no doubt that this is one of the best, if not the best, chain hotels in Gainesville. I would recommend this hotel, but here are a few notes from our stay:

Noise from above. I say try to get the top floor because if you have someone above you, you WILL hear them. It's not a thunk either, it's a creak. Luckily, the people above us went to bed before we did and got up after we did. In other words, we knew when they went to bed and when they woke up. I didn't complain, but when I was in the lobby I mentioned that it might become an issue if it kept up too late. The desk clerk was eager to help, but I'm not sure what he could've done other than move us or move them. Not the typical Homewood deal there.

This hotel was built in 2005, but seems to have been ridden kinda hard. That's probably based on college kids & their families staying vice mostly business travelers. But it's clean and the exterior & lobby are still in good shape. 2005 must have been the last year that new hotels got tube TVs. The 27" CRT on a swivel was weak compared to the 42" LCDs that most other hotels of this level have now. I think it got 30 channels, which is lousy for a city this size, and they're off a satellite so they cut out in a thunderstorm. The pool is outdoor. Not sure if it's heated or cooled. Bad weather thus wrecks swimming plans, too. But outdoor is way better for hanging out/laying out.

Breakfast was great as always, but the evening dinner was understaffed. We got in at 6:30 (it runs 5-7) and the buffet was crushed. It seemed like the one attendant was working very hard but couldn't keep up with managing the busy dining room alone.

Light. There are blackout curtains, they're just neatly tucked away in the corners of the window so it's possible to miss them. If you're from up north, welcome to Florida...the hallways may be warmer than you're used to and you'll want to crank the room AC way down to counter the summer heat.

Overall, this is a great hotel, especially for Gainesville. The above are nit-picky complaints and I think similar or worse problems would be encountered at most of the other hotels in the area. Homewood might be a little bit more $ than some of the competition, but it's almost always worth it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toowordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

In visiting this area multiple times over the last year and half, we have stayed at many different hotels. The Homewood Suites is BY FAR THE BEST when it comes to service and attentiveness by the staff, in every department. We chose this hotel because it was "pet friendly" (we were traveling with our 52-pound puppy). I cannot express enough how fantastic our stay was at this location. On check-in, the 2 front-desk employees were very attentive, friendly, and accommodating. On arrival to the room, I called housekeeping for extra towels, sheets and pillows; the housekeeper was at my door (on the top floor) within minutes! She even offered to come in and put the sheets and pillows on! The free breakfast was fantastic; my children especially enjoyed the make-your-own-waffles section----fresh, hot waffles made to order! The attendant was very friendly, which surprised me because there were so many people there at one time, I certainly would not have been able to handle it. But she kept on replenishing trays of food (fresh cooked eggs, hash browns/potatoes, milk, juices, waffle mix). There were boxed cereals, bagels, toast, english muffins, fresh squeezed o.j. Coffee around-the-clock :-) The free dinner we did not take advantage of because the night we were there, they offered a dish that my family does not enjoy, so we went across the street to the ale house (pet-friendly with outdoor seating). Every time I passed through the lobby to take my dog for a walk, the employees greeted me with a nice smile, asked how I was, how was my stay, etc. My husband and daughter are returning to G-ville next week for a UF sports camp, and I am booking this hotel for them, instead of a less expensive, closer to UF campus hotel. I will definitely return to this Homewood Suites with each visit to the area. By the way, the Hilton Garden Inn that is adjacent to this Homewood Suites is also acceptable, but for a very comparable price, I choose the larger suite. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoftballMomofThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2009

My wife and I were in Gainesville with an appointment at Shands Hospital. Staying at Homewood Suites was the best part of the trip second only to the excellent treatment we received at the hands of the Shands Hospital Staff. The suite was kept very clean, all the appliances worked - even the ice maker. Breakfast and dinner were provided (Mon-Thu). Beer on tap, wine and the salad bar were the surprises for the evening meal. The property grounds were quiet, well manicured and the atmosphere inside the hotel was not chaotic.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tagudinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Staying herre was relatively pleasant. However, I booked this room on hilton.com and when I arrived, my room was a "studio suite". I was told by the front desk that this was the room available for the rate I obtained and a "full suite" was not available at this rate. This in spite of the fact that I am hilton diamond member. I was not in a position to move to another hotel. Everything else was homewood quality but I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you have an understanding of the room type you are getting when you reserve. If you are looking for a full homewood style suite, you are likely going to be pay more - which I find extremely ridicously.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rggsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#5 of 44 in Gainesville
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Gainesville

Property: Homewood Suites Gainesville
Address: 3333 SW 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel in Florida is an upscale, all-suite hotel situated off I-75 at Exit 384 not far from the University of Florida. We are conveniently located in Gainesville's popular restaurant row area, where guests will find excellent dining options and a variety of other local tourist attractions nearby. The Homewood Suites Gainesville hotel features 103 suites, including 11 two-room and 46 one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas, along with 46 studios. Each of our spacious suites offers all the comforts of home and a great range of amenities that you deserve for a short or extended stay in Gainesville, including: * Fully-equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker * Two televisions * DVD player * Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access * Two phones with data ports * Iron, ironing board and hair dryer. Join us for excellent guest accommodations and quality temporary housing. Our professional and friendly staff is available 24-hours a day to make sure you have a splendid stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel. Make Yourself at Home!® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Homewood Gainesville
Gainesville Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing