We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Overall Very Good Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites Gainesville
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
“Overall Very Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I often choose to stay at Hilton properties in my travels, due to consistently good service/amenities/value for the price, and this one pretty much met expectations. This property is located right off a major interstate in a college town (U.FL), so I’d consider this more an “on-the-way-through” or utilitarian hotel, rather than a “destination” hotel…know what I mean? It is a block or two off the main drag...far enough that there is no noise problem, but close enough that there are tons of nearby restaurants & shopping, and there’s a grocery store in the plaza at the corner. The rooms are clean/good-sized/comfortable, with good amenities. (Full sized fridge in the kitchenette -- yay!) They are pet-friendly; I saw 3 families walking dogs during my stay, but otherwise I wouldn’t have known they were there. Comp. breakfast was typical buffet-style, with good selection. The only reason I am not giving "Excellent" this visit is I did encounter 2 problems -- 1) business center internet/computer/printer woes, and 2) found food left in the microwave by a previous guest. To be fair, I have never encountered either in my previous Hilton stays, and the desk staff was absolutely super in their response, so the problems were just hiccups in an otherwise "Excellent" stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    123
    55
    28
    13
See reviews for
217
54
22
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
242 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Clean rooms
Large rooms
Soft towels
Cool flat screen tv's
Large bathrooms
Excellent service
Great breakfast
Free dinner at managers reception
Beautiful pool area
Great staff
Family friendly
Pet friendly- we saw some of the cutest dogs!
We loved Floreita- she was the sweetest person in the world!
If you want all of this, stay at this place. This place is better than some 4 or 5 star hotels.
We will stay here again when we visit Gainseville again!
We loved everything about this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonifromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We can't thank you enough for all of your wonderful comments! The team is excited about all of your feedback and we can not wait until you return to the Homewood Suites in Gainesville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family had a memorable experience at Homewood Suites in Gainesville, FL. The overall service was outstanding. The breakfast unit was amazing. Ms. Flower from the breakfast unit masters the concept and the application of excellent customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff! The Homewood Suites goal is to provide excellent service and I am glad to see we met our goal. We look forward to your next visit to Gainesville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a great experience at Homewood Suites in Gainesville, FL. The room was very clean and service was excellent. Particularly the kitchen staff. It was quite a busy morning, as the hotel was full of teams for a local soccer tournament. The morning breakfast was very busy, with some, unfortunately, less than pleasant guests. The kitchen staff: Flower and Taj worked very hard to keep things moving efficiently and handled all issues with calm, friendly grace. What an excellent staff you have! Thank you for the great service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and have shared them with the staff. Our goal is to provide the best customer service and we are excited to see that we achieved this goal during your visit. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Gainesville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have found a really wonderful place to stay while in Gainesville. I have had a few previous stays here, and it just keeps getting better. If every hotel had a staff like this one, there would be no disgruntled travelers.
Everyone is so nice, but I want to pay a special compliment to Kenneth at the front desk, and of course, the assistant GM, Ashlie.
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenEnglish_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback about the Homewood Suites in Gainesville. We are very excited that you have been enjoying your recent stays with us. We appreciate your business and we look forward to all your future trips! Kenneth and Ashlie say thank you for your wonderful comments and they will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Absolutely surprised when we checked in and the evening meal with complimentary beer and wine was still being served. In the morning, the breakfast hostess was absolutely outstanding, really understood the concept of excellent customer service. This wonderful attitude was also displayed by the housekeepers and front desk personnel.

We had never stayed at a Homewood Suites but will certainly do so in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Homewood Suites in Gainesville. We appreciate your feedback . We are very happy that you enjoyed our evening reception and our staff. We look forward to your next visit to Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I picked up a business associate and we sat in the breakfast area and ate. Fiorella was in charge the days that we were there, and she was outstanding!! She is the most personable, concerned and caring restaurant employee I've ever seen, regardless of the restaurant.

The hotel overall was excellent also, as were all the employees we encountered, but Fiorella merited a special mention.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff and Fiorella. Our team strives to ensure each and every guest is 100% satisfied. We appreciate you sharing your experience and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#11 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Gainesville

Property: Homewood Suites Gainesville
Address: 3333 SW 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2386
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel in Florida is an upscale, all-suite hotel situated off I-75 at Exit 384 not far from the University of Florida. We are conveniently located in Gainesville's popular restaurant row area, where guests will find excellent dining options and a variety of other local tourist attractions nearby. The Homewood Suites Gainesville hotel features 103 suites, including 11 two-room and 46 one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas, along with 46 studios. Each of our spacious suites offers all the comforts of home and a great range of amenities that you deserve for a short or extended stay in Gainesville, including: * Fully-equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker * Two televisions * DVD player * Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access * Two phones with data ports * Iron, ironing board and hair dryer. Join us for excellent guest accommodations and quality temporary housing. Our professional and friendly staff is available 24-hours a day to make sure you have a splendid stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel. Make Yourself at Home!® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Homewood Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Homewood Gainesville
Gainesville Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing