We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Kudos to the Kenneth Johnson, Flower, Rosa, and Sassy!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites Gainesville
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville
2 reviews
“Kudos to the Kenneth Johnson, Flower, Rosa, and Sassy!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We recently stayed at the Gainesville location for the Thanksgiving weekend. Kenneth Johnson was so helpful due to our visit was due to the death of a family member and to spend time with relatives. Our reservations were mixed up but Kenneth was able to locate rooms for all seven of us so that we did not have to spread out and find another hotel. His superb customer service helped our family to relax and enjoy our stay during a difficult time. Flower was also very kind and provided words of comfort to me and my family and also made snack bags for us to take on our commute to the funeral. Sassy ensured that whatever we needed we made available in our rooms. Rosa was also very nice and kind. Management of the facility has placed the right people on board to ensure the customers are treated well. George Fort and Family of Jacksonville, FL really appreciate the way we were treated during our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi_1992672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    115
    54
    26
    13
See reviews for
203
50
20
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Front desk was understaffed but did a good job and got everyone checked in eventually. The first room appeared clean but the entry floor was sticky, and second room they gave me was very clean. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was well organixed and pleasant with helpful staff. This hotel could use some sound insulation. It would cut down on road noise in the outer rooms and reduce the sound of guests moving about, and children and pet noises.

Room Tip: Stick to the rooms on the inside of the "L".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallytraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Kenneth Johnson at the front desk was extremely helpful, understanding and generous in accomodating us after we were booked for 1 night instead of 2. He was so professional and took charge of the situation, I thought he was a manager.

Room Tip: The food could be improved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Did the exorcist stay here? The first two rooms we were given were completely trashed - clean but hide-a-beds open, all drawers open (kitchen, sitting room, bedroom, bath), bed pillows strewn across room. Only one staff person on duty and he was running ragged with a hotel full of guests needing attention. He finally found us a clean un-trashed room and promised to return our HH points. By the time we got an acceptable room they had stopped serving dinner so we had to get back in the car (after driving 10 hours) and find a restaurant. Breakfast at 8am the next morning was lacking - choice of 3 sugared cereals, waffles, sweet rolls, sausage, watery juice. Staff apologized that they had run out of other food. We have been loyal Hilton customers forever and love Hampton Inns. Decided to "treat" ourselves to a "suite" on this trip and are quite sorry we did.

Room Tip: For a good room I would try the Hampton Inn - also a Hilton property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladypat787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, General Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent trip to our hotel. We appreciate all guest comments, so that we can continue improve the service and quailty we provide to our guests. The situations you addressed have been discussed with the staff and we are working hard to exceed our guests expectations. We invite you to stay with us again the next time you are in Gainesville to see our improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I spent four nights in this hotel while attending a function at the University of Florida. On extended stay, I prefer a suite hotel as it allows a feeling of greater comfort. I have stayed at this specific hotel on a number of occasions and have had positive experiences.

At the time we visited, there seems to be some problem with the upkeep of the room(s). We would leave very early in the morning and return early afternoon. We would then leave the hotel early evening. This routine was repeated each day of our stay. The room was never made up during our stay. I even let the front desk know we would be gone each day from 7 am to 1 pm. Consequently, any towel exchange fell to me taking the soiled towels to the front desk and asking for clean ones. I also had to request toilet paper and bathroom amenities on my visits to the front desk.

The breakfast facilities were to Hilton standards and everything served was to our liking. I like the location of the hotel, slightly off the major roads, but with easy access to University of Florida. It would have been nice to come back to a made bed, but even with that, the rooms are quiet and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TpaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you encountered. Lack of service is not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Our housekeeping staff has been notified of this and we will make the necessary changes to improve. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Have you ever tried. To cut a half melon with a 4" paring knife ? No wine opener in suite because guests steal them. Rooms not ready for occupancy until after 4pm. Then rooms not made up until aft 5pm. Shower door doesn't close, lampshade tattered. One china coffee mug - oh yes paper cups are now the standard and didn't anyone notice the top of the coffee pot was melted?
Welcome to Homewood Suites in Gainesville? We usually stay in the Residence Inn down the street - thought we would try the Homewwod Suites
First of all if the rooms weren't ready .... How about saying come in, have a cup of coffee or a water while you wait? Expensive, no - just training. How about a wine opener or two at the front desk?
Towels and bed linen were nice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicChicago_1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for staying here at our property. We apologize for the inconveniences that you endured. We are working with our maintenance team and reworking on improving our guest suites. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share, and I hope that we have another chance to provide a great hotel experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

So many disappointing details to write about! Seriously, as a previous reviewer warned, BRING YOUR BLEACH. In the words of another...BELOW HILTON STANDARDS!! Last (but DEFINITLEY not least), to quote another reviewer..."IN DESPARATE NEED OF UPGRADING." If you are a HH members, then your review would be the same; definitely does not live up to the Hilton name; take you money/points elsewhere.

It’s been a couple of weeks since my departure and I decided not to immediately review for hopes of being able to point out good points...HA! I had a tiny suite that did not cool below 80 degrees. Alerted staff and was told someone would be there to fix it...nonexistent! I received numerous apologies though?? Must have been a communication breach: I didn't ask for the hotel rating, I simply wanted to once again give the Hilton chain an A+ rating as usual...yeah right. You deserve to know the truth...I will NEVER even consider this hotel; rest assure sleep in your car(s). *THUMBS DOWN*

Room Tip: Rooms are small and unclean with paper thin walls; in desperate need of upgrade(s)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cml3660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we apologize for the condition of your guest suite. Maintenance has been notified, and has fixed your air conditioner. We again apologize that it wasn’t fixed sooner. We appreciate your loyalty as a HHonors member, and we want you to know that we will make the necessary changes. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#5 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Gainesville I-75
Residence Inn Gainesville I-75
#13 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Gainesville

Property: Homewood Suites Gainesville
Address: 3333 SW 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2386
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel in Florida is an upscale, all-suite hotel situated off I-75 at Exit 384 not far from the University of Florida. We are conveniently located in Gainesville's popular restaurant row area, where guests will find excellent dining options and a variety of other local tourist attractions nearby. The Homewood Suites Gainesville hotel features 103 suites, including 11 two-room and 46 one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas, along with 46 studios. Each of our spacious suites offers all the comforts of home and a great range of amenities that you deserve for a short or extended stay in Gainesville, including: * Fully-equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker * Two televisions * DVD player * Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access * Two phones with data ports * Iron, ironing board and hair dryer. Join us for excellent guest accommodations and quality temporary housing. Our professional and friendly staff is available 24-hours a day to make sure you have a splendid stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel. Make Yourself at Home!® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Homewood Gainesville
Gainesville Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing