We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slap in the face to HH members!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites Gainesville
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

So many disappointing details to write about! Seriously, as a previous reviewer warned, BRING YOUR BLEACH. In the words of another...BELOW HILTON STANDARDS!! Last (but DEFINITLEY not least), to quote another reviewer..."IN DESPARATE NEED OF UPGRADING." If you are a HH members, then your review would be the same; definitely does not live up to the Hilton name; take you money/points elsewhere.

It’s been a couple of weeks since my departure and I decided not to immediately review for hopes of being able to point out good points...HA! I had a tiny suite that did not cool below 80 degrees. Alerted staff and was told someone would be there to fix it...nonexistent! I received numerous apologies though?? Must have been a communication breach: I didn't ask for the hotel rating, I simply wanted to once again give the Hilton chain an A+ rating as usual...yeah right. You deserve to know the truth...I will NEVER even consider this hotel; rest assure sleep in your car(s). *THUMBS DOWN*

Room Tip: Rooms are small and unclean with paper thin walls; in desperate need of upgrade(s)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cml3660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we apologize for the condition of your guest suite. Maintenance has been notified, and has fixed your air conditioner. We again apologize that it wasn’t fixed sooner. We appreciate your loyalty as a HHonors member, and we want you to know that we will make the necessary changes. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 632 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stay here the beginning and then the middle of July 2012. Both times the showers were dirty-the corners had that pink color before turning to mold and the floors were grayish dirty. The first stay I didn't info the front desk I just give it a very good cleaning with clorox. The second time I did report the problem to the front desk which he went and somewhat clean-the pink color and the dirt around the seals where gone but the floor still had that grayish dirt. Again I give it a good cleaning with clorox in both cases the floors are white again. With the traffic that they have coming and going they have a hard time keeping the hallways clean. The next time we have to be in Gainesville on business we aren't going to be staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2traveltoanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a one night stop over in July 2012. The hotel was very convenient to the highway, so great for a stop over. We used the hotel pool and enjoyed relaxing there. The hotel was very convenient for local amenities such as restaurants, grocery stores etc. We made the short drive to University of Florida and visited the natural history museum and butterfly rainforest with the kids, which was a fun activity for them. We had the free breakfast which was fine. Overall great place for a one night stop on a longer road trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DellaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here on business and found the location very convenient. The front desk staff at check-in (Sergio) and -out (Kenneth) were great - very helpful. My room was terrific - kitchen & living area separate from the bedroom.Lots of pillows on the king bed and more in the closet if needed. Wi-fi was spotty at times, but worked best either early morning or late evening. The breakfast each day was acceptable with hot options and cereals/breads - I liked that yogurt was also an option. I didn't get to sample the light dinner meal offered during the week but was impressed that it was included in the rate. This hotel is convenient to Shands & VA Hospitals and there are lots of restaurant and shopping choices nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ichiban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I would like to mention three outstanding staff members who went above and beyond the call of duty: Mega, Jeanna and Flor! In three or four different occasions, each one showed to address our concerns.
My wife Beyla and I felt the warm and sincere eagerness from them to help without being asked.

Thank you!!!! They are a great asset to the hotel!!!!
We will see you in September!!!

Roland Gonzalez and Beyla Romero
We stayed last in May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Rooms are clean, well appointed and well equipped with microwave, fridge, convection oven, 2 televisions, sitting area. Some wear but overall above average. Pool on premises, work out room and business center. Small shop with snacks, etc available in the lobby.

The "evening reception" consisted of hot dogs and chili, with a couple bottles of wine, water or lemonade. The wifi is pretty much non-existent. It will show up for short periods but always time out if you try to connect to anything. The wired connection in the rooms was very poor (bottom 8% of speed tests in the US): http://www.speedtest.net/result/1978941519.png.

The staff was polite and apologetic, but unable to assist except to suggest I call their internet provider for the in room hard wire connection. I stayed in the Hilton Garden Inn next door and had a similar experience with the connectivity, I will try out the Courtyard by Marriott down the street next time I am in Gainesville and see if they are more business traveler friendly.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue for you, ask to check the room, some of the A/C units are rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eepjr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This hotel was just what we needed while visiting UF for a sporting event. Close to shopping, restaurants and about an 8 minute drive to campus. The room and pool were nice but the fitness room needs updated equipment. Breakfast was pretty good. Eggs, waffles, cereal, yogurt and fruit were available. Each morning we were greeted with a warm welcome by "Flower" who does her best to make everyone comfortable as she oversees breakfast and the dining area. We will definitely stay here again when we travel to Gainesville.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank learn2relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#11 of 47 in Gainesville
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Gainesville

Address: 3333 SW 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $115 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel in Florida is an upscale, all-suite hotel situated off I-75 at Exit 384 not far from the University of Florida. We are conveniently located in Gainesville's popular restaurant row area, where guests will find excellent dining options and a variety of other local tourist attractions nearby. The Homewood Suites Gainesville hotel features 103 suites, including 11 two-room and 46 one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas, along with 46 studios. Each of our spacious suites offers all the comforts of home and a great range of amenities that you deserve for a short or extended stay in Gainesville, including: * Fully-equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker * Two televisions * DVD player * Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access * Two phones with data ports * Iron, ironing board and hair dryer. Join us for excellent guest accommodations and quality temporary housing. Our professional and friendly staff is available 24-hours a day to make sure you have a splendid stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel. Make Yourself at Home!® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Homewood Gainesville
Gainesville Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing