We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gainesville Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Gainesville Property”
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Since the hotel reserved by our Gainseville relatives for a family reunion had a "pet friendly" policy, and we had cat allergies, we needed to find accommodations in Gainesville that were "pet-free." After a little research and some good luck, we discovered Gainesville's Country Inn and Suites.

Upon check-in, we were greeted by a desk clerk who was most accommodating in satisfying our special request for room location, as well as assisting us with lugagge (there is no bellman, but there are three professional-style luggage carts for those guests who are self-sufficient). A cookie jar filled with freshly-baked cookies was a welcoming touch at the front desk for weary travelers.

Our standard room was nicely decorated, and even though there were two comfortable queen beds, desk, chairs, dresser with flat panel tv, fridge, coffeemaker & microwave, the room felt spacious. A closet with mirrored sliding doors was equipped with a safe, plenty of storage space, and wood suit hangers - features you would expect at a four star hotel. The bathroom was nicely outfitted with a large sink/vanity area and a full-size tub/shower combo; the shower rod was curved to give a more roomy feel in the tub area, and the shower curtain had a clear "window" at eye level. Though the toiletry ammenities were quite sufficient, a reminder card in the room informed you to ask for any other toiletries you might have forgotten. Room-darkening draperies blocked any bright lights coming from the parking lot, to allow for a good-night's sleep.

Those travelers requiring more space may book a suite with bedroom, living room and sofabed.

There is a free in-room high-speed internet connection, as well as a complimentary business center on the first floor that is equipped with a computer and color copier/printer/scanner. A small indoor pool off of the lobby area, as well as a small fitness center are also provided to guests.

A good-sized breakfast room with large-screen televsion is the location of the complimentary breakfast offered to guests every morning. A wide selection of juices, beverages, hot and cold cereals, bagels, muffins, danish, eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, etc., is served; you will not leave breakfast hungry! A stack of USA Today newspapers is stacked at the entrance to the breakfast room.

Though located immediately off of the interstate, the rooms are quiet. The location is within 1/2 mile of shopping (Target, Wal-Mart, Walgreen's, Albertson's, etc.), as well as at least a dozen restaurants, including a Cracker Barrel adjacent to the Country Inn and Suites; the major mall is only one highway exit to the north. Though not in the immediate area, UF is not far away.

The hotel is very well kept and clean. Though there are really no grounds, there is a small outdoor seating area in front, and a sizeable seating area in the lobby. Since the property is relatively new (opened in summer of 2005), the furnishings are all in very good condition.

Though the rack rates might be slightly higher than other franchise properties in the area, there are promotional rates and affiliation rates, subject to availability. This property is well worth any slight premium, if you are looking for a clean, quiet, reliable place to stay, as well as one which offers perks that many other properties do not.

We will definitely book the Country Inn and Suites for our next trip to Gainesville!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank mke9499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    209
    61
    30
    21
See reviews for
405
114
41
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way down driving from Jacksonville to Miami for a cruise. We stopped in Gainesville because my husband is a UF alum and wanted to stop by the school for a visit. It was very convenient for us because it was not too far from the university and just a short drive to all the restaurants on Archer and close to freeway acess. The rooms very new and clean and they offered free Wi-Fi. It was right next to a Cracker Barrel, but we took advantage of their free continental breakfast. We would definitely stay here again if we ever go back to Gainesville!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, free Wi-fi and free breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ABT910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

Stayed here 1 night. Very pleasant staff, nice rooms, clean, complimentary breakfast had good variety, indoor heated pool, microwave & fridge in room. A Cracker Barrel is located directly behind and a Target, Walmart, Ale House, restaurants are just minutes away. Nothing like the run down chain hotels located closer to the stadium & downtown. This hotel is about 10-15mins from the UF hotspots.

  • Liked — clean, updated
  • Disliked — not in walking distance to bars
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2007

I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites during a recent business trip. The hotel was as reviewed by others on TripAdvisor -- clean, spacious, courteous staff, and a good price.

It was the first time I had stayed at a Country Inn and it will not be my last time.

  • Liked — Spacious room & clean
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HOaKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2006

Stayed at this property with a group and the staff was prepared for our arrival and couldn't have been more efficient or accomodating.

The property appeared to be relatively new and well kept. A workout facility, small business center and pool seems to posture this hotel as a nice stop for those traveling to the area.

The rooms were adequate and the bathrooms nicely appointed. My one issue... I found the beds were hard and uncomfortable.

Having been to other hotels in Gainesville, this one is on the upper end of the lodging that is available but it would be one of the preferred locations if the bedding was more comfortable.

  • Liked — The efficient staff and its cleanliness.
  • Disliked — The bedding
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Conchobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2006

Very nice place. Staff is great. Rooms are nice. Nice indoor pool and workout facility. Nice hot breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vilomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2006

I stayed in this hotel while attending a family wedding. I could only find chains in this area, so I relied on the tripadvisor reviews to find the best place.

I was very pleased with the stay and, more notably, so did my mom who had a bad experience with another Country Inn and was hesitant to stay here. It fit all of our expectations for a good chain: clean, helpful staff, and a complimentary breakfast.

We got even more than we bargained for. The beds were noticeably more comfortable than I have experienced at many hotels. The breakfast had so much more than I would expect...there was bacon, omlettes, waffles, bagels, etc. When our toilet wasn't working properly, we told staff when we went down to breakfast and it was fixed by the time we went back to our room.

Only bad thing: The price is high for a chain, but I found the other comparable hotels in the area were also pricey, so I assume the rates were high due to University of Florida students attending for orientation.

Helpful?
4 Thank ModerateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#7 of 44 in Gainesville
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Address: 4015 SW 43rd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites is conveniently located next to I-75 right off of exit 384. There are lots of restaurants close by with Cracker Barrel adjacent to the property. CI&S offers free breakfast, free WiFi, 24 hour business center, fitness center and the only indoor heated pool in Gainesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Gainesville
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Country Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing