We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We needed to take an unexpected trip to Gainesville,Florida to get our daughter from Shands Hospital. I had seen the Inn on our last trip and decided to call then direct for a last minute reservation.
A young lady,Katie, answered the phone and very professionally answered my questions and booked our reservation. I mentioned the reason for our trip and she immediately offered a rate, much lower, than a regular rate.
Upon checking in, the ladies at the front desk were absolutely wonderful.
The lobby was inviting open and airy. The elevators and hallways were clean and well lit. The room was clean and well equipped. The beds were very comfortable. They offer a continental
breakfast. Coffee and tea along with cookies are offered anytime in the lobby.
This was very important since I am recovering from cancer surgery just 10 days ago.
Thank you "Counrty Inn of Gainesville" and your wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JV W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank You for visiting us. We strive to make every guest very special and give them the BEST service they deserve. You our customers are very important to us and that is why our Front Desk Representatives are always ready to help our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 867 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here last weekend to visit family. Guest services were wonderful, breakfast was great and the room was clean and roomy. For a college town and it was the first game for the Gators, very friendly and clean. Will stay here again when I visit my family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Wonderful! We love to hear responses like this and look forward to seeing you again. Go Gators!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at this property strictly because of the Tripadvisor reviews, I normally would stay at The Hilton Conference Center property down the road.

Front desk staff were all friendly and efficient, i wanted extra towels and pillows and I received them right at the front desk to take to my room (I didn't mind). Free cookies at check-in and free breakfast in the morning downstairs. The hotel is located on the quiet corner of Archer Rd and I-75, In between a Cracker Barrel Restaurant and a Gas Station.

The bed is very comfortable with upgraded linens and bedding, decent pillows, great room darkening blinds on the window. Flat screen TV with decent cable selection. The hotel the night I stayed was very quiet, didn't hear any hallway noise (odd for any hotel!).

Plenty of free parking. I paid $111 for a Junior Suite, which basically is just a large room with a sitting area, no separate TV in the Junior Suite, only the one bedroom suite. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalP0ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your nice comment on Trip Advisor. I am glad you chose us for your stay. I hope you had a chance to sign up for our Club Carlson Reward Program so every time you stay you will get points. Hope to see you again on your next travels to Gainesville, Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Checked our kid in at UF, this hotel is nicely located on Archer, just off I-75 (to the West).

Clean, quiet, well maintained, and a very nice staff. We felt welcome and they were on the ball.

Breakfast was adequate, the usual, no great shakes.
Exercise room had 2 treadmills, so don't expect much there.

I would stay again, good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newman019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

We appreciate your great review and hope to see you again. We offer many amenities along with a great location near University of Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very nice hotel. Especially for a college town. Clean, looked new. Rooms nice size. Internet very good. Work out facility had newer cardio equipment and free weights. Not extravagant but did the job. Did not use pool, but heard it was nice. Breakfast was O.K. Need to spread things out a bit and seating is very limited. Cookies and coffee in the lobby a nice touch. With a son just starting the UF would definitely go back. But make sure you check your reservation confirmation. We were booked incorrectly and had to spend the first night in the last room available which was a smoking room. Awful. Once we got our room, very nice. Had a king suite. Private bedroom for us and a pull-out sofa in a separate room for our son. Also, really appreciated the magnified mirror in the bathroom. Helped putting on make-up immensely!

Room Tip: Large hotel. Can be noisy. We requested upper floor toward the end of the hall.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for a great description of our beautiful hotel. We do have coupons in the books, so make sure you pick one up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had planned on leaving Fort Lauderdale and driving straight to AL to see family--the kids got tired and crabby and we decided to stop for the nite to let them rest, and to give ourselves a break. We learned about this hotel from one of those hotel coupon booklets that are offered at rest areas. We saw they had a coupon and had a lot of the amenities we enjoy (indoor pool, hot tub, free parking and wifi, free hot breakfast) and had good ratings, so we decided to give it a go! We called from about an hour away to make sure they had availability and Carol was very courteous and helpful on the phone!

We got here and was very pleasantly pleased with the location--right off of the highway, right down the street from stores and restaurants, yet far enough away to relax and enjoy the quiet. The entrance was warm and inviting, and very clean.

Our room was 308, and it was spacious with 2 queen beds. The closet has extra pillows, which worked out well with keeping our kids on the bed. The beds were PERFECT! The pillows were the best! I do think the room was built for tall people--the beds were high off of the floor and the ceilings are very high! Great for my husband, interesting for my short self! But the comfort and nice decorations were just right.

The bathroom was clean and we had enough towels. The water here is hard, so be prepared with lotion!

The breakfast was hot and filling. We had the eggs (pretty basic), sausage (not so bad), hashbrowns (meh) and waffles (AWESOME!). There was plenty of juices, cereals, fruits also. The lady working there was very friendly and chatted with customers, making sure everyone was all set. The customer service here is wonderful!

We saw the pool and hot tub but had to get back on the road so we didn't get to use it. It's small, but I did get to feel the water and it was cool--just right.

Overall, this was an excellent find! If we weren't on our way to see family, we would've considered staying here another nite and seeing what Gainesville has to offer! And with a noon check-out time, we didn't feel rushed to leave! This stay made me learn more about Country Inn and Suites, and we look forward to trying their other locations if we need to!

Room Tip: Room 308 was at the end and we heard NO ONE else!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RudeeRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit us again at the Country Inn & Suites in Gainesville, Florida. On non-event days we do honor the coupon rate in the coupon book usual located in rest area stops.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Clean, large room with nice beds, great internet service, plenty of TV channels & the best staff ever encountered! Breakfast is decent, afternoon cookies are delicious! Got substantial discount with "Hospital/Medical Rate" - by direct phone contact to location - for 2 nights while having surgery at Shands. All staff, especially Pearl, exceptionally friendly, caring, helpful & professional. Hopefully, I won't need to return to Shands, but I know where to stay if I do!!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank laurenat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Country Inn & Suites Gainesville, Florida is the place to stay when visiting Gainesville, Florida. Whether you are going to the hospitals are the University of FLorida come stay with us. Thank you and we are glad you stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#7 of 46 in Gainesville
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 46 in Gainesville
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#9 of 46 in Gainesville
657 reviews
3.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville

Address: 4015 SW 43rd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $115 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites is conveniently located next to I-75 right off of exit 384. There are lots of restaurants close by with Cracker Barrel adjacent to the property. CI&S offers free breakfast, free WiFi, 24 hour business center, fitness center and the only indoor heated pool in Gainesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Gainesville
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Country Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing