We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring on the wine and cheese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wine & Cheese Gallery - CLOSED

Wine & Cheese Gallery
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bring on the wine and cheese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

On a happy accident, my favorite restaurant was closed today so I set off to the Wine and Cheese Gallery in downtown Gainesville to meet a friend. It was a delightful experience that nudged memories of many pleasant times spent here, mostly on the lovely deck outside..

It was raining today though, so we settled in at a window seat after the owner greeted us and showed us in. Water and coffee was promptly delivered by a friendly waitress. The menu boasted fine cheeses, imported meats sumptuous salad. A wide array of wine and cheese selections were available. As we made our selections I noticed the clean, homey wood surroundings and sparkling windows!

I was delivered a fresh home baked cheesy roll along with the house "secret dressing" that was creamy and flavorful. Soon a romaine salad heaping with roast beef, Danish ham and Swiss Gruyere arrived, seductively arranged. My dining partner had a melted Brie and ham sandwich on a French baguette with some tasty chips for a garnish. As we enjoyed the flavors and textures and enjoyed watching the raging storm from our comfortable venue, the time melted away.

The waitress was discreetly dropped off the check and left us to finish up. I look forward to returning soon when I have the leisure to sip on a glass of warm cabernet accompanied by the fruit and cheese platter du jour!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I have been here several times & I'm always impressed. The staff is friendly & knowledgeable. They are a nice local place that is easy to find. Parking might be difficult but worth your time. The wine and cheese gallery get high marks from me.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pbirdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent local spot for lunch on downtown Gainesville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stopped in based on the fine reviews from other visitors and were not disappointed. We had soup and sandwiches which were tasty and generous. Servers were friendly and attentive and the restaurant was clean and interesting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Freshest food around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Unique, unforgettable... an icon in Gainesville. This place has the best salads in town!!! This is a must try!!

Helpful?
2 Thank UF_Rhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best wine; rustic european bistro run by good old Gainesville folks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Why wouldn't you go to the best wine shop in town when it also serves awesome food? You can start with a glass (2 for 1 before 6) to peruse the heavily laden shelves for the bottle you'll have with dinner. Buy the wine for the store price and corkage is just $5. That means you can get an amazing bottle that would normally sell in a restaurant for triple what you're buying it for there. And it's easily Gainesville's best selection: organized by region, the wine that's packed into this store comes from many smaller production vineyards around the world, in addition to better-known names. And the selection is always changing based on availability and season. The staff is always happy to give you a rec.

The outdoor patio in the back of the store is the best spot on a balmy night: wrought iron tables under the trees, simple strings of white lights. The service is pleasant and down-to-earth.

The restaurant is technically called Panache, and it's open for lunch and now recently, dinner from Thursday through Saturday. Lunch consists mostly of sandwiches, salads, soups and quiche. It's fresh and lovely. My focus here is on dinner. At dinner, the food offerings are best to share: numerous cheese boards (think your choice of a savory board with roasted vegetables and cured meats, a sweet board with fruit, or a briny board with all manner of pickled things, the caper berries being my favorite). There are many vegetarian options: a beet napoleon, a stuffed bell pepper with tempeh and grains, and other rotating specials. The pizzas, which are buttery, crusty oblong shapes crowded with garlicky oil, cheese, and meat or seasonal vegetables, are huge and delicious. For those who require a piece of meat, there is usually a lovely roasted chicken dish on the menu, served on a fragrant bed of lentils, or if you're feeling adventurous, why not try bone marrow infused with gremolata? I've also had an amazing dish of littleneck clams in a simple white wine garlic sauce. In short, it's hard to go wrong.

If you're lucky, Christina (who serves there) will have made her amazing Chocolate cotes-du-rhone ganache cake for dessert. Don't forget to ask about what they have.

Thursday is the best night right now because it's never crowded, though I'm sure the future holds other things . . .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine & Cheese Gallery also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing