We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food close to campus”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro 1245

Bistro 1245
Ranked #114 of 568 Restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food close to campus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The bistro is bustling, friendly and sometimes packed, but with delicious options for lunch or dinner at a good value. Love their roasted pecan and chicken salad, with the slightly spicy pecans and a tangy vinaigrette. Excellent salad nicoise and wide selection of veggie. and non-veggie panini with a side salad. Other highlights -- mussels, variety of pasta.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentDiners352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    37
    18
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great for an early nite bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stopped by her for wine and a bite with some friends after sitting in a campus workshop all day. Good food, ample portions reasonably priced. My friend had the house salad with salmon, which was a generous sized portion. Loved their beers on tap too. I'll come back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steelpanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Bistro 1245 is really close to campus, but a little nicer than the standard college fair. The 3 cheese grilled sandwich is my favorite. The garlic knots and the cheese board are excellent appetizers to share!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scrappy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great soup”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We had the butternut squash bisque and a slice of pizza for lunch. The soup was great, but the pizza was a bit greasy this time. I've had their deep dish on other occasions, and it is GREAT. Perhaps the pizza is just better when you order the whole pie, rather than by the slice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TateEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent soups, sandwhiches and salads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Perfect for lunch and dinner. Love their butternut squash bisque, chicken pesto sandwich. Must try the spicy shrimp. I work close by and it is my favorite hangout for quiet lunches. Grab a book and enjoy the lovely soups and sandwich combo.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank NamzyIno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 1245 also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to Bistro 1245? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing