We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could have been much better”
Review of Swamp Restaurant

Swamp Restaurant
Ranked #91 of 574 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“could have been much better”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Warning, they have a different menu on "gameday" which is simplified but more expensive. I had looked up their menu advetised on their website and was really excited about all the yummy choices and that it looked affordable. The simplified menu was just sandwiches and burgers and some fried stuff. Just what the kids like, but mega-overpriced!!! Typical bar atmosphere, all the games were on the tv's and staff was super friendly. I personally could do without the "Hooters-like" outfits, I'm sure it helps with tips, but not my thing. I would like to go back on another night to see if it is any different, but with this experience, probably not.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 212Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    53
    38
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“The place to be.”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Food is consistently good and the atmosphere festive!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My fave in Gainesville!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is my favorite place to eat outdoors in Gainesville! It's known for it's nightlife for UF, but if you go at dinnertime you can enjoy a nice dinner on the beautiful lit-up patio overlooking University Avenue! I love their salads and sandwiches... Their wings are good too! I recommend this to anyone who lives in or is visiting Gainesville! It really is the most legendary local restaurant we have.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mallymay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne,fl
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the swamp”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Dined at the swamp for the first time while up in Gainesville for freshman orientation. The food was good with all the selections moderately priced in the $10 range. The beer was a little on the pricey side for non domestic drafts. Our waitress Sonya was exceptional...really sweet and chatty...you could tell she genuinely liked her job, which you don't come across very often!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ga2rgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food and location”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you are walking from UF this about the finest you will find with the the combination of food and atmosphere.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cweldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swamp Restaurant also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to Swamp Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing