We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“thick crust pizza is very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan

Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan
Ranked #49 of 555 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
miami
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“thick crust pizza is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Always stop here when in town to see my daughter.
great pizza, very good salad, fantastic rolls.
very laid back and casual.
My only complaint is that the front part of the restaurant is always uncomfortably hot.
Sit in the back room and enjoy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mkdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    28
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Gainesville tradition before of after the ballgame.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have eaten here with friends before or after Florida football games for more than two decades, and have eaten Leonardo's pizza at one location or another for 40 years. The restaurant is small but there always seems to be a table available. The atmosphere is rustic ... typical college town ... nothing fancy. We always order an extra pizza to eat cold on the trip home after the game. We live in NE Florida but NEVER fail to eat at "Leo's" whenever we come to town. Their deep-dish pizza reminds us of the original "Uno's" Pizzeria in Chicago. Don't miss eating here when you have a craving for delicious pizza.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDeut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedartown, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't judge this book by it's cover.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I chose Leonardo's on my way through Gainesville to Orlando based on its reviews here on Tripadvisor.

Warning....you WILL BE UNDERWHELMED when you walk in the door. The decor is 30+ years old, the furniture is cheap, and the staff looks a little on the rough side. That being said, I had the best pizza I have EVER.......EVER.....had in my entire life here. The owner (Not named Leonardo) learned we came due to its TripAdvisor review and came to chat us up. He recommended Leo's Deep Dish, and we were not dissapointed at all.

He gave us a double-order of garlic rolls for the price of one. We were all grouchy and tired from driving six hours, but this place really changed the mood. GREAT food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Deep Dish Pizza Is the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Salad bar is so-so, entrees are OK, but the deep dish pizza is the best--loaded with goodies, fragrant, and baked just right.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cool, laid back place for all ages, great local spot too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I've been here 2 times now. Easy to order, cooked fresh, worth the wait!
Trying to visit your student at college, you can bring the friends here too. Excellent prices, serve a crowd! Great garlic rolls, good thin pizza, and of course, the deep dish pie. I never saw such a thick one in my life.You will not leave hungry here! Enjoy! Lots of seating, no waiting.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank starhotelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing