We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NW 39th Avenue Gainesville Location”

La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #392 of 574 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Gainesville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“NW 39th Avenue Gainesville Location”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The menu, atmosphere and prices were very good and the service was excellent. However our tabs had an automatic 18% tip added upon which tax was improperly charged. Our party which included a mathematics professor, an attorney and three others with doctorates questioned a befuddled staff about this and they did adjust our bills. This isn't a reason not to dine a La Fiesta but you should double check their math.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doctorpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    9
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Service, Tasty Food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were a party of 9 last night at the NW 39th Ave location, and the service was outstanding. The server returned to our table many times to see if anyone needed anything. The serving portions were large. Several folks asked for boxes and took home part of their meal. In my opinion, the food was good, but not outstanding. I ordered the Dos Tacos dinner with soft tacos. The chicken tacos and accompaniments were as described and tasty. However, I would not describe the food as authentic. It didn't come close to what I have had during several trips to Mexico or even at La Tienda here in Gainesville which I consider more authentic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crawley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Would eat there again”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good mexican dishes. Fresh salsa and tortillas. Enchilladas and buritos were delicious. Each sold separately.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KJC93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Mexican!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

La Fiesta is excellent, authentic Mexican in Gainesville! It is by far my favorite Mexican food is town. If you like spicy food, don't miss the chili burrito. Everything comes out fast and fresh. Don't miss!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HLJKDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“My favorite Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The best item is actually not on the menu - the queso and bean dip! OMG I would weight 300 lbs if I knew how to make it. The chips are just a vehicle to get as much of this dip into my mouth as possible. Otherwise I usually get either the Southwest steak wrap or the regular tacos. The meat here is not greasy like it is at other mexican restaurants. Highly recommend this place - although it is really far for us to drive here we make the trip across town several times a year.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing