We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had dinner, got food poison, manager said "good luck" finding owner!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of California Chicken Grill

California Chicken Grill
Ranked #312 of 566 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had dinner, got food poison, manager said "good luck" finding owner!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

On Feburary 2, had dinner, was sick in bed for two days with food poisoning. Called to speak with owner and manager would not give me their contact information and told me "good luck" finding the owner. He was right, I have been trying but cannot find the owner. I guess is the best way to avoid the public. I did send what I thought was a corporate email address but have not heard from them. Do yourself a favor and eat somewhere else.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank max t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    4
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great, cheap, semi-healthy food, but don't dine-in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We regularly order from California Chicken Grill when we want a delicious, quick, and fairly cheap meal that is healthier than pizza. This place has some great deals and you can get a full meal with chicken, rice, a side and a sauce for 5-6 bucks. The taste is addicting. The actual location is a bit of a dump though and I certainly wouldn't reccomend eating in the restaurant. They deliver for free anyway.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“MMM Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

I always got take out and ordered the curry chicken with rice and black beans. I've moved away and sure do miss this place. Its awesome beacuse they're open late and will deliver if your feeling lazy. Its decently priced, not really a eat in place but its close to all the apartmetns and Archer Rd.

  • Visited August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank floridawaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv, israel
1 review
“California chicken grill is consistently delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

Number 1 boneless, skinless combo with terriyaki sauce. All day, every day.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank playaadam30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville
1 review
“Garbage in a box”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2009

The management is terrible, unwilling to give refunds or credit for their low quality food. One meal in particular, they served me inedible chicken (the more expensive white meat too!) with an odd red color inside. They say it was a vein, I say it looked like red crayon. The sauces are decent as is the rice, but the rest of the food is not appetizing at all. Inexcusable service and food overall.

Helpful?
Thank thelotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Chicken Grill also viewed

 

Been to California Chicken Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing