We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little place for excellent food”
Review of Amelia's

Amelia's
Reserve with OpenTable
Amelia's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 574 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: European, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd Place and E. 1st Street
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“great little place for excellent food”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were visiting the campus of U of Florida. Coming from Maryland, we relied on Trip Advisor for recommendations and were not disappointed. Amelia's was a wonderful find and we enjoyed an excellent Italian dinner. All aspects- appetizers, salad and entree were well presented and prepared. We happened on a 1/2 price wine night which was a nice bonus. The chef made a point to visit our table and make sure we were happy- yes we were ! :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janicepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    46
    17
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a quaint little Italian Restaurant in the heart of downtown. Just walking in and you are quickly swept up in the feel of a fine restaurant in an Italian village. The chef knows how to please even the most staunch Italian. We usually visit once a month and are always treated as if we are appreciated. The food divine, the wine list inclusive. Try the nightly specials, the regulars on the menu, the special requests, are always exceptional! Don't miss an opportunity to dine here!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank flg8trmdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The one item we ordered that was very good was the lasagna I took home for my son. It was a little spicy which was unsual and very tasty. Other than that, not really impressed. Decor, carpet, everything definitely dated. Prices okay, selection of wine very good. Staff were excellent, but I would honestly not go back. Was not worth it to me.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Like most Italian places the portions are large, but they had the option to split a meal, which is handy when you can't take a box back to a hotel. It was enjoyable though where to park was confusing. Be careful as towing is frequent in a college town.

Helpful?
Thank TouristaBuena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for lunch or dinner”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have eaten at Amelia's twice in the last month. Once for lunch and the other for a celebratory dinner. Both meals were great. The lunch menu is great value and they promise prompt service.

For dinner we started with martinis and bruschetta, which were delicious. Our salads were cold and fresh, and our entrees were perfect. We finished off the night with the custard which was worth every calorie.

We also enjoyed the music, which was played a volume that allowed for quite conversation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia's also viewed

 

Been to Amelia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing