We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of Amelia's

Amelia's
Reserve with OpenTable
Amelia's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 572 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: European, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd Place and E. 1st Street
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Glad to see this excellent restaurant is still here in Gainesville
Years ago they were about the best this town had offer! We went there
to celebrate all birthdays, anniversaries etc.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    46
    17
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dependable, Friendly and Romantic”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have been eating at Amelia’s for ten years. I live 35 miles away. And every time I am in Gainesville I try and eat at Amelia’s. The service is friendly and helpful. But the Chef/Owner, Andy is great. He is friendly, attentive and genuinely concerned about your visit. Let’s face it; a restaurant is mostly about the food. Andy prepares almost all items in house. Everything I have tried is good. But be sure to save room for his homemade desserts. The tiramisu is my favorite, but his cheese cake and flan are also great. My favorite night in Gainesville is dinner at Amelia’s and a show at the Hippodrome. Guys, if you want a romantic restaurant that is reasonably prices, choose Amelia’s.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph_Pressley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just an OK experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We love trying mom and pop, non-chain locations. We used the trip advisor reviews to decide on this location. Unfortunately, the food was just average. It was not bad, but certainly not great. Most of the items were very bland. The salad was very small and basic. The tomato sauce on the pasta was very bland. A side of penne with more sauce is too much. A side of veggies (or at least the option) would be much better. For the price ($15-$18 per entree) it was overpriced for the quality. We were impressed that the owner/chef came by each table to introduce himself as it was obvious he takes great pride in the Restaraunt. We did not complain or offer thoughts to him as it was not bad, just very plain and bland.

Helpful?
1 Thank CocoaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville, fl
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere, great food.”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

the Food is amazing. presentation, amount, type and preparation is higher end without gouging the wallet. The prices of the meals can vary up to about 25 for the entrée. prepare to stay a while as each part of the meal like the appetizer, salad and main meal is prepared individually. The chef and owner came out to say hello and check on our visit. The atmosphere is quiet, low lighting. The room is not big and there is seating outside. The best idea is to make a reservation but you can just walk in. Great place for a wonderful meal and time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shunkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I ate here one night only because friends were singing and playing. I was pleasantly surprised. It was a beautiful place. I was eating alone and the staff was so gracious because i wanted to stay to hear my friends play. I had the eggplant parmesan. It was delicious. It was a great meal and excellent service. The music was wonderful too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia's also viewed

 

Been to Amelia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing