We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straight No Chaser at the Phillips Center”

Curtis M. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts
Attraction details
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Straight No Chaser at the Phillips Center”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great venue for a concert. It was a full house but the parking was not too difficult and the atmosphere was tremendous.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankTrips2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buffalo ny
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great venue”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Saw a concert here this week. Great venue. Large and comfortable seats. Plenty of ladies rooms stalls! Convenient parking. Not a huge venue which I liked.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank damily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Premier showcase for musicals, concerts, jazz, dance”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

With some 85 events scheduled for this year, the Phillips is THE place to come for an evening of live entertainment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
290 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“It Should be Better”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

...but it is, sadly, just average. They don't seem to get the numbers of top flight events as nearby Orlando, Tampa or even Jacksonville. On the other hand, maybe that's because they get little support for the community: in my experience attendance for musicals and some comedy is never sold out, and that's true even when it's a one night stand.

Also not happy with the acoustics here. Extremely difficult to get clear dialog other than in the orchestra/stalls and in a few places there are terrible echoes which seem to build upon themselves until they pour our of the wall like a waterfall.

Staff is generally really nice except somewhat untrained. Twice I've been sent to the right rather than the left to get to my seat. And at least three times I have experienced staff, standing at the door to the usual pre-performance talk by cast members, having no idea of starting times.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curtis M. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Curtis M. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing