We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Place with Great BBQ”
Review of 4Rivers Smokehouse

4Rivers Smokehouse
Ranked #12 of 574 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Description: 4 Rivers is a family-owned smokehouse specializing in 30-day aged brisket, homemade southern sides and fresh bakery items.
Restaurant details
Description: 4 Rivers is a family-owned smokehouse specializing in 30-day aged brisket, homemade southern sides and fresh bakery items.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New Place with Great BBQ”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

did not expect much from this place but my first visit got me hooked. the food is so juicy and savory and it is accompanied by the best sides. and to top it all off it has an in-house Sweet Shop for dessert. Best said, this place has it all. Highly recommended

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank galdama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    79
    21
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yummy barbecue, sides, and sweets!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

They do not wait on you here. You stand in line and place order and pick sides cafeteria style. But the barbecue is delicious! We had pulled pork and St. Louis ribs that were so good! Very moist and can really taste the smokiness. The sides are really good like sweet potato casserole and bread pudding and okra! Cornbread and corn are spicy! And then they have cakes, cupcakes and brownies that are huge! We had the cookie dough cupcake which was sooooo good! Definitely worth the visit. You get 3 sides so may want one dinner and then one al a carte.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quite good BBQ and wow what a sweets selection”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was in town visiting my daughter(UF student) and we decided to try this place. The selection was quite good. I had the brisket sandwich and it was very good as well as the mac & cheese and bbq beans. They were good as well. It is a little pricey and the sandwich seemed a little on the smaller side but that didn't detract from a really good taste. I was also disappointed they were out of potato salad but I'll just have to go back another time to try it. They also have a bakery in the back that makes what appear to be fabulous cupcakes and other sweets. I didn't have anything from the sweet shop but will have to give it a try another time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Checkcheck38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Filling treat for those craving BBQ”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recently opened and extremely popular. Lines normally snake outside during lunch and dinner, but the line moves fast and long waits are not too much of an issue. Very soft and flavorful Pulled Pork and Brisket, which remains my favorite. Have many other BBQ dishes I have yet to try. What's nice is that they also have their own bakeshop for desserts. Very casual ambiance with reasonable prices. Ideal for casual dinners/lunches with a group of friends/family.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
553 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

As a 'Son of the South' and one who has tried BBQ from East to West and North to South in my travels, this is good eating. The food is very flavorful, the portions generous, the sides tasty, and the long lines tell the true story. If it wasnt that good, no one would wait for it! Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jelsrtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4Rivers Smokehouse also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to 4Rivers Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing