We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience with reservation”

Dragonfly Sushi & Sake Co Incorporated
Ranked #6 of 568 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 1st St.
Transit: Centered in the heart of downtown Gainesville, multiple public bus routes drop you off at Dragonfly's doorstep. All local hotel shuttles also make downtown Gainesville a frequent stop. Check with your concierge for special Dragonfly VIP offers.
Panama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience with reservation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We reserved for 9 people for dinner and when we arrived there the hostess said that somebody erase the reservation. She offered a table outside waiting 1 hour. It was raining and we left to another restaurant. We felt really disappointed with their customer service.
Hadbeen many times at this restaurant and has not been disappointed. Always Good service, good food. But this time was really bad experience with the reservation service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianella4368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    113
    39
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, even for a non sushi lover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I am not a big sea food guy so I have never been into sushi. My wife is the polar opposite and loves the stuff. I reluctantly took her here one night and was very pleasantly surprised. For a nice restaurant in downtown Gainesville, I didn't think the prices were that bad either ($7-$11 range per roll). My wife had two rolls that she really enjoyed - don't remember the names but one had shrimp and the other crab. I got one with steak and one with chicken - steak was good but the chicken was excellent. Good, friendly service as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gatorslam8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Where do I start? Everything was incredibly tasty in a perfect Japanese atmosphere! A great place to try while visiting UF & celebrating achievements. My recommendations are as follows: DRINKS ~ the Mo-j-O.J., Pandora's Box, Cucumber Compulsion, and the spicy Chili-Orange Caipirinha. DINNER MENU ~ Miso Black Cod, SUPERB!, Stir Fry U-10 Scallops, Dragonfly Short Ribs, & NY Strip Negimaki. ROLLS: The Volcano Roll (best I've ever had!), The Mango Tango, The Bomb, The Dragonfly, and for the landlubber---The Black & Bleu roll. DESSERTS: Tempura Cheese Cake is incredible! (Sorry, but I'm not a sake fan, so I can't guide you there....)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sushi in Gainesville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I am not a really well versed sushi connoisseur but some.....and the food quality and atmosphere here is EXCELLENT. Parking can be a pain in the backside as is the case all over downtown Gainesville.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Gainesville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I have loved this place since the early years. Glad to see they are still going strong. Good job Hero and Song. Your Orlando location is also very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heatherkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly Sushi & Sake Co Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Dragonfly Sushi & Sake Co Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing