We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi in Gainesville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragonfly Sushi & Sake Co Incorporated

Dragonfly Sushi & Sake Co Incorporated
201 SE 2ND Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5811
(352) 371-3359
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 543 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 1st St.
Transit: Centered in the heart of downtown Gainesville, multiple public bus routes drop you off at Dragonfly's doorstep. All local hotel shuttles also make downtown Gainesville a frequent stop. Check with your concierge for special Dragonfly VIP offers.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sushi in Gainesville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I am not a really well versed sushi connoisseur but some.....and the food quality and atmosphere here is EXCELLENT. Parking can be a pain in the backside as is the case all over downtown Gainesville.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    104
    31
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi in Gainesville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I have loved this place since the early years. Glad to see they are still going strong. Good job Hero and Song. Your Orlando location is also very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heatherkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
506 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi Rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Went with family to celebrate my son getting into UF Law School. We got 8 or 9 different rolls which were all good and fresh. Service was very good. Yaki Sobi was good as well. Beware prices are not cheap here even though location is downtown Gainesville.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nailcutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
208 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent food, rivals Nobu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We eat at a lot of Japanese restaurants all over the world and are always looking for great value sushi. This place was simply excellent. It was recommended by our hotel as the best sushi so we had high expectations and they were met. Atmosphere was great and our waitress was very helpful with recommendations. Don't miss the volcano roll or the short ribs. We also loved the tuna tataki and scallop spears.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NSDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Quality Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were in Gainesville on business. This was a referral from a friend and I also double checked on TA. We booked a reservation online and requested the Sushi bar. When we arrived, it was busy. While we were waiting a couple walked in without a reservation and were offered seats at the sushi bar. I reminded the hostess that we had a reservation and had requested the sushi bar. She sat us in the next available spot after kicking someone who bypassed the host stand out of our seats. After this rocky and stressful start, things got better. Staff was very friendly and the sushi was very good. We have our favorite place in South Tampa which we compare everything to(Yoko's). Although it was not as good as our favorite spot(the difference was the roll choices, not the the quality of sushi). Better than most other places we have tried. We especially liked "the bomb" roll but didn't care as much for the "godzilla".

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly Sushi & Sake Co Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Dragonfly Sushi & Sake Co Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing