We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi -- competes with any urban downtown.”

Dragonfly Sushi & Sake Co Incorporated
Ranked #7 of 576 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 1st St.
Transit: Centered in the heart of downtown Gainesville, multiple public bus routes drop you off at Dragonfly's doorstep. All local hotel shuttles also make downtown Gainesville a frequent stop. Check with your concierge for special Dragonfly VIP offers.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great sushi -- competes with any urban downtown.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Inventive, delicious rolls. Good service in a lively atmosphere. We got in early enough for happy hour, with half-priced drinks and rolls.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MBRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    117
    44
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Sushi at Fair Price”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I purchased the sushi for two platter for $64.00. We had more sushi than we could eat! The sushi was good quality and fresh. All was good except the talapia. Not my favorite sushi fish.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wbennett365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food & Service but Noisy”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We ate dinner there after the theater on a Sunday evening around 8:30 PM. Food and service was great but two tables away there was a very large party celebrating a birthday behaving like they had a private room. The loud talk and noise really distracted from our own meal and interfered with our own conversation. The management should have done a much better job segregating this party so other guests could enjoy themselves as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't bring your large party here!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Planned a surprise birthday party at Dragonfly. We called the day before to tell them a party of 20 would be there at 8 and that we would like to get there around 7:30 to set up. We arrive late at 7:50 and the room is not available. When we finally get back to the room we are given two members of Dragonfly to wait on us. Let me just say, this was the worst service we have had. MULTIPLE times we went to the bar directly to get drinks while still waiting for the ones we ordered to be brought to us. Also the manager continued to come up to ask asking how we are going to pay for the room as it is an $800 minimum. This "minimum" came as a big surprise to us as this was the first we had heard of it. The money was not an issue. We had 20 people so the $800 minimum would not have been hard to reach if we had been served propery however the multiple trips we took to the bar and paid the bartender did not go towards this minimum. My main points with this post is 1. I'm not sure if they needed to get two wait staff to help but it was very poor service, 2. The manager was rude and unwilling to listen to the 20 people who wanted to discuss why we had a problem with the 30% gratuity we were being charged to meet the $800 minimum seeing as at least $200 was paid at the bar and 3. When you are throwing a birthday dinner, the last thing you want is to be bothered with constant questions about how you are paying before your food even gets there. Ask for a credit card to hold and go away. 4. Being served only 3 drinks from the wait staff during a 3 hour dinner is absolutely unacceptable. I hope the owner views these as my other attempts to talk to him have been diverted to the manager who was absolutely no help at all. Horrible customer service and next time we will take our group to somewhere that will take care of large groups and be happy for the business.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WK115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent dinner and great service”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

traveling solo over the holidays, this restaurant was recommended by hotel staff at the downtown holiday inn - even though school was out, and it was a weeknight, the place was packed, but i got seated quickly at the sushi bar, and had an excellent dinner....numerous selections, good value, got to watch the chefs work their magic. Recommend to anyone in the area that enjoys sushi and oriental dishes.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank gafellowtravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly Sushi & Sake Co Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Dragonfly Sushi & Sake Co Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing