We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Burger But Would Give it Another Chance” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballyhoo Grill

Ballyhoo Grill
Ranked #56 of 566 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Bad Burger But Would Give it Another Chance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Fun environment, great staff - especially for our large group. Disappointing experience with how my burger was cooked but they were cool about it so I don't want to beat them up too badly as everyone else in my group had a great meal. Extensive menu and tons of TVs

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ga8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    63
    35
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We ate there yesterday (10/2/12) with some friends who live in Gainesville and I had the ziti parm and it was very good. The service was good and the waitress was very efficient in refilling our drinks and returning to our booth to check on how we were doing. I was happy with the service but it wasn't crowded when we were in so don't know how it is during a rush period. I enjoyed the restaurant very much. The food was hot and a good size portion for the price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This place is grossly overpriced, gross, and the service is poor. I ordered a sandwich and a upgraded my side to a salad. Never received my salad even though I asked multiple waitresses. I've worked as a server before. It's not that difficult to go to the back and ask for a salad that's missing. I told them to take the the salad off my ticket nearly an hour later. So essentially I still paid for a sandwich and a side that I never received. I had the poboy. The clams are clearly frozen before frying. The shrimp was okay. Lame overall for a seafood restaurant. Then, I received my bill-- $20 for a crap sandwich without a side and 1 watered down margarita. I'll never return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gooserstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood, drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Gainesville has a lot of sports bars, but Ballyhoo's is actually also a very good restaurant. Their Seafood Cobb salad is one of my favorite dishes in town. Their fish dishes almost never disappoint. Of course they also have the full selection of bar food and appetizers.

Their outside seating is great for happy hour and they handle large parties better than most restaurants.


Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Opinithetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Gets worse and worse”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

It saddens me to write this review because Ballyhoo's has been a favorite of mine for a long time. When it first opened they concentrated on really good, fresh seafood. After a few years they started messing with the menu, removing their signature seafood dishes and replacing them with unhealthy choices. We would still eat here for its convenience and service (if you chose carefully you could still manage a healthy meal). However, our last few visits have been horrible. Two examples: we ordered the tableside quacamole (which is the only good thing they added to the menu) and the chips were horribly stale. We told our waiter and he simply put them back in the fryer and returned them totally burned! During our last visit our waitress, who did not write down our order after confessing she hadn't waited tables in six months, got our order totally wrong. She apologized but there were no adjustments to the check. I could go on about how this place has really lost its way. In the beginning we ate here at least once a week, it was that good (that translates to hundreds of visits and thousands of dollars!). It pains me to say we probably won't be back. (Note: my star ratings are for my last visit)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballyhoo Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ballyhoo Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing