We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, friendly service”

La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #134 of 574 Restaurants in Gainesville
Restaurant details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Average food, friendly service”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This restaurant is right off the interstate. The service is friendly. While the restaurant is Mexican, the wait staff was not, which is somewhat unusual in Mexican restaurants. Open dining room and sort of plain not a real lot of Mexican flair.. The food was good but nothing special. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. Ate there for lunch and portions were smaller than usual for Mexican (probably a good thing) but prices were very reasonable. Their chips and salsa were better than usual. This is okay but there are better ones in Gainesville.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food HORRIBLE, Service VERY CAPABLE”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

It had been sometime since visiting this restaurant and I recall not being impressed previously. Nonetheless, I decided to try it again. It is a Mexican restaurant yet the ambiance is more like a Texas Roadhouse where one would expect family style beef being sold. Frankly it lacks the decor of a Mexican restaurant experience. However, the lack of ambiance pales in comparison to the quality of the food. The food is worse than tasteless. It tastes and smells strange. I had the chicken fajitas and the tortilla smelled. The chicken likewise emitted a strange odor. There was plenty of food but I had to stop eating about halfway through the meal. I tried to finish it since it cost enough but had to stop. The service however was excellent, the servers stopped by the table repeatedly asking if there was anything they might help with. I suspect they know how poorly the food tastes And we're exhibiting compensatory behaviors. This restaurant needs a makeover - all the way from its lack of ambiance to the quality of the food. Regrettably I have to recommend that you STAY AWAY from this restaurant. While Gainesville is hardly a Mecca for excellence in terms of Mexican cuisine! there are much better choices in town. Don't bother patronizing this restaurant unless all that matters to his is the quality of the service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

La Fiesta is a great little place in Gainesville for some tex-mex food. My favorite is their cheese onion enchiladas, fajitas, and spinach queso. Always good food and two locations.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shredded burrito dinner is to die for!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I live in Austin Texas, which fancies itself one of the top Mexican food restaurant towns in the USA. But head 1000 miles east, to the home of the Gators, and you will find two locations of family-owned La Fiesta. No chain here; these folks are the real deal. I really like their food, and the waitstaff is top rate. I am fond of the chimichanga, but particularly recommend the shredded burrito dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Hanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Gainesville, FL
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing